We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very good food and wine, but pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Primo

Primo
4040 Central Florida Parkway, JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes, Orlando, FL 32837
+1 407-393-4444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Primo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #418 of 3,629 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: John Young Parkway
Description: Primo specializes in Italian cuisine with an emphasis on fresh ingredients, an outstanding wine list and exceptional service. The restaurant features on-site organic gardens. Located at the JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes with a captivating view of a tropical paradise and Greg Norman designed golf course, you will enjoy the Primo experience.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very good food and wine, but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

While you should expect to pay a premium for food and beverages at Primo simply because it is located in the JW Marriott property, the food was quite good -- soup and salad with very fresh ingredients, followed by pasta dishes with freshly made pasta. You can get the pasta dishes in half-portions, which were totally sufficient for us. The wine was wonderful, but, again, really pricey. If you choose to stay on the property at the Marriott, Primo is a fine place to dine.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pegali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    68
    33
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Make reservations as soon as you check in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Excellent food and service. As I noted above, this place gets booked in a hurry every night, and for good reason1

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wow! You must visit this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Primo is situated at the JW Marriott hotel, grande lakes and is one of the greatest restaurants I have ever eaten in. From service to food the ambience is first class and I highly recommend others to experience it, don't just take my word for it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank juliathomas20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sanitation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

I watched the sous chef reach down and pick up a ticket off the floor with his bare hand and proceed to season food at the expo counter and grab plates without washing his hands. Plus the pork dish I had was dry and bland. Could have used the piece of pork as a hockey puck at the Stanley cup. Terrible, Terrible, Terrible. I've had better food at Arbys.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mase360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great service but food falls below expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Primo at the JW Grand Lakes is an elegant setting and the service was as good as any restaurant where we've fined this year, but the pork Saltimboca was far too salty and the spiciness of the sauce on my pasta course overwhelmed the flavor of the fresh rigatoni. The Chicken main course was outstanding. A pasta course and a second course with one drink for each of us totaled $140 before tip, about 20% more expensive than better restaurants nearby. That said, the service was perfection, which I have to again commend, and I recognize that even the best chefs have off nights. With all the positive reviews, it's worth a try if you're staying at Grand Lakes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottBOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Primo also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Primo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing