We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food and wine, but pricey”
Review of Primo

Primo
Reserve with OpenTable
Primo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #397 of 3,791 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $48
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: John Young Parkway
Description: Primo specializes in Italian cuisine with an emphasis on fresh ingredients, an outstanding wine list and exceptional service. The restaurant features on-site organic gardens. Located at the JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes with a captivating view of a tropical paradise and Greg Norman designed golf course, you will enjoy the Primo experience.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very good food and wine, but pricey”
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

While you should expect to pay a premium for food and beverages at Primo simply because it is located in the JW Marriott property, the food was quite good -- soup and salad with very fresh ingredients, followed by pasta dishes with freshly made pasta. You can get the pasta dishes in half-portions, which were totally sufficient for us. The wine was wonderful, but, again, really pricey. If you choose to stay on the property at the Marriott, Primo is a fine place to dine.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pegali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    84
    38
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Make reservations as soon as you check in!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Excellent food and service. As I noted above, this place gets booked in a hurry every night, and for good reason1

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Wow! You must visit this restaurant”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Primo is situated at the JW Marriott hotel, grande lakes and is one of the greatest restaurants I have ever eaten in. From service to food the ambience is first class and I highly recommend others to experience it, don't just take my word for it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank juliathomas20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sanitation”
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

I watched the sous chef reach down and pick up a ticket off the floor with his bare hand and proceed to season food at the expo counter and grab plates without washing his hands. Plus the pork dish I had was dry and bland. Could have used the piece of pork as a hockey puck at the Stanley cup. Terrible, Terrible, Terrible. I've had better food at Arbys.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mase360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great service but food falls below expectations”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Primo at the JW Grand Lakes is an elegant setting and the service was as good as any restaurant where we've fined this year, but the pork Saltimboca was far too salty and the spiciness of the sauce on my pasta course overwhelmed the flavor of the fresh rigatoni. The Chicken main course was outstanding. A pasta course and a second course with one drink for each of us totaled $140 before tip, about 20% more expensive than better restaurants nearby. That said, the service was perfection, which I have to again commend, and I recognize that even the best chefs have off nights. With all the positive reviews, it's worth a try if you're staying at Grand Lakes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottBOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Primo also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Primo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing