We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great BBQ, Generous Portions, Nice Service.”
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
Ranked #644 of 3,776 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
263 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 477 helpful votes
“Great BBQ, Generous Portions, Nice Service.”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Our first time at this Sonny's location. The portions were very generous and we all walked away very full. The smoked turkey is my personal favorite, and it goes very well with the Smokin' BBQ sauce. Alyssa was our waitress, and what can I say, she was terrific in every sense of the word....easy on the eyes, funny, and very good at her job. She got big tips from everyone in our party that night.

My only concern (and this is why they get a '4' instead of a '5') was that this restaurant was not exactly in the best area of town. We didn't really know that when we looked it up online, but within seconds (literally) of getting out of our car, some really sketchy looking character came up to us asking for money. They may want to consider lighting up the parking lot a bit more and maybe hiring some security if they want to stay in this part of town. Luckily, there were no small children with us....I think they would have been terrified by the way that guy approached us.

Having said that, I would probably go to this location again, because the food and the level of service we received was nothing short of fantastic. Alyssa deserves a raise and a promotion!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gizmo311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Gizmo311, thank you for the great review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our smoked turkey and great service from Alyssa. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    49
    22
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orient, Ohio
2 reviews
“Sonny's Real Pit B=Q”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Sonny's baby back ribs are the best I've ever had. We have none in Ohio, so when we hit Florida
thats our first stop.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Richard A.,

Thank you for your 5-star review. We're happy to hear that you enjoy our baby back ribs. We'll hope to see you again soon on your next visit to Florida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Good BBQ”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I haven't explored much American BBQ, but this place was really good. Tons of great things to choose from that all sound good. The staff is pretty knowledgeable and helpful at least to me in deciding what to get. The food itself was really good, seasoned well and not overcooked. Had a good time and a great meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Carlos T, thank you for the great 5 star review! We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit with us. We appreciate your support and look forward to many more visits from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gotha, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Redneck Egg rolls”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Redneck Egg rolls are heavily advertised,to bad, they are very poor in taste and quality. They look was ok, but the filling was all mush, kinda like a pate , consequently the flavor was very bland with no texture. I would highly recommend skipping this $6.00 expense

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GothaFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
GothaFL, thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your Redneck Egg Roll appetizer. Please let us help! Email us at Social@SonnysBBQ.com with details about your order, including the location you visited, so that we can address the issue you had encountered. We would greatly appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“That's a lot of food!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stopped by after a long flight with little kids. At first, our server seemed pretty grumpy, but as she got a few more tables she became friendlier.

The food portions were REALLY big for the price. The flavour was pretty decent too. The kids were all happy with their food and Dad and Mama ate their fill of ribs and chicken.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mamacassola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Mamacassola, thank you for the great review! We're glad to hear that you and your family paid us a visit and enjoyed our BBQ. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to many more visits from you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing