We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Woa”
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
Ranked #618 of 3,790 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Takeout
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Princeton
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Woa”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I like a place that feeds you. I got the combo for 12.99 and could barely finish it. The food was quick, fresh and delicious. In todays world you rarely get your moneys worth but at Sonny's you do. O and don't forget to check out the pond in front for the alligator! Clean, quick and food was great!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank jeff178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    49
    23
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage
Level Contributor
135 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“If you're hungry....”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Very pleasant staff -- food was good -- I'd say very good for a chain, though don't expect gourmet. What really impressed us were the portions -- about twice what we expected. Neither of us could finish our dinner -- be careful about over ordering! You can eat very well here for under $15....

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great food and alot of it.”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We loved this place. We got the ribs for two and could not finish all the food.Service was also very good

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank bphil59519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Wish they were in New York!”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We went to the Sonny's at 7055 S Semoran Blvd, which was right across from the airport Hampton Inn. We had a great time. The waiter was excellent, and the food and prices were outstanding. An all you can eat salad bar could be added to any entree for $3.99. I had the Super Combo, which inclded a big platter of brisket, chicken, pork and ribs. You had a choice of having the pork, chicken and brisket off the bone, which I did. You also had your choice of 2 sides, I chose baked beans abd the baked sweet potato. Then you could have either garlic bread or cornbread. The latter was served as a small individual loaf and was yummy. That was $12.99. My husband had the pulled pork sandwich for $7.99, which inclded 2 sides and the bread choices. We can't wait until we can go back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CruisingSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basford
Level Contributor
138 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great no frills BBQ”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Visited Sonny's a few times when visiting Florida. Always guaranteed good food at a very low price and feel full.

Great combo plates and really nices sauces on the tables.

well worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeaPodAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing