We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Skip it! No sausage in pasta dishes, skimpy pizza offerings” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Tomatoes

Sweet Tomatoes
Ranked #43 of 3,639 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Soups, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Lake Buena Vista
Hyattsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Skip it! No sausage in pasta dishes, skimpy pizza offerings”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Hadn't been to a Sweet Tomatoes in 10+ years and unfortunately I recalled why I stopped going. They used to have a great pizza selection and several homemade pasta dishes. Only 1 plain pizza and 1 white pizza were offered. The "sausage" pasta dish didn't have ANY sausage in it. No chocolate ice cream available at make your own sundae station. Quantity over quality as it is all you can eat. Also didn't care for employees either on break or after their shift sitting in one corner with their friends grubbing down and making a lot of noise-where is the manager at?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,869 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,136
    557
    133
    29
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Such a nice change!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have been to Sweet Tomatoes twice in the last week, and we will be going again before we leave next week!

Such a nice change from the burger/pizza/steak options everywhere else on I-Drive. Being vegetarian, this place is a breath of fresh air, and even my meat eating boyfriend loves it!

The brocolli soup is amazing, as are the chocolate brownies. Make sure you leave room for them! We really love the baked potato station, and the fresh bread is delicious. The salad bar has a good selection, but my advice would be not to stock up here, as you probably won't want to eat it once you see the yummy soups, potatoes and pastas on offer!

Also, try the strawberry and raspberry lemonade. We always get a to-go cup!

If you sign up to their mailing list, you get an email code for 50% off a second buffet. It's good for two weeks and you can use it as many times as you want.

Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hjeffery00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our favourite place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Of all the restaurants and food outlets we have been to in Orlando (we have holidayed there 8 times so far) this is our favourite place. Great homemade, fresh food and something for everyone. We love the fresh salads and especially the soups. Our son loves the home made bread, pizza and ice cream. It is a fantastic place and you can have as much bread, potatoes, soup, salad and dessert as you like. Try it once and you'll return, for sure.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank weemouse0802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent as usual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

As with all the Sweet Tomatoes restaurants I have been in the food is fresh, healthy and a massive choice. Eat as much as you want choices include fresh soups, pasta, bread, plentiful salad choices, baked potatoes. For dessert, which changes on a monthly basis, there is ice cream, chocolate pudding, jelly, fruit, muffins. This makes a refreshing change from the fried food choices that seem to be everywhere in LBV.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GuitarGeorge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
137 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Food glorious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Eat here all the time when I'm I Florida with family. This place has the most amazing choice of salads, soups (chicken noodle and chilli are the best), homemade breads, pizza, freshly cooked pasta and frozen yoghurt with a variety of topping! The thing I like about this place is the different themes during the seasons and if you want to save a little cash, register online to the veg club on their website to receive regular discounts.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hayles_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Tomatoes also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Sweet Tomatoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing