We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Not as good as it used to be” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Tomatoes

Sweet Tomatoes
Ranked #42 of 3,637 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Lake Buena Vista
Redditch
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Always eat at Sweet Tomato when in Orlando but noticed past couple of times things seem to be on a downward slide, tepid coffee, mouldy creamer, in-imaginative dishes. When we were here in May 2013 two hot pasta dishes were both cheese based, n new appealing salad dishes and generally this one desperately needs a re-vamp. Wood Fire Grill put these to shame and they are not even a salad bar!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WhatAShameWhatACon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,840 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,119
    548
    131
    28
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bridge of weir
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

first time visit to this restaurant during a visit to florida. I love salad and soup however not a huge fan of buffet type meals as sometimes they can be less than fresh. Well this place is just fabulous, the salads were all lovely and really fresh tasting as was the soup. we were a party of 5 including two young kids. we spent time arguing about which was the best soup... all yummy. I dont usually eat baked potato as I prefer sweet potatoes but their bakes potatoes were fantastic, I had two. staff couldnt do enough for us and the meal was very reasonably priced. kids loved the ice cream and cakes. would highly recommend this place good food and good value. One of the best meals i had in florida. And they do take away.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Family favourite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Sweet Tomatoes is always a favourite in our family, with something to please everyone.

Huge choice of freshly made salads plus plain veg, toppings, drizzles etc so you can make your own combinations as well.

Then there's soups (jambalaya was kicking!), pastas, pizzas, potatoes, baked items, and lots of dessert items.

If you sign up for their newsletter, they will email you coupons and you can just show the email on your phone - our kids ate free this way, and it was really easy and great value.

Oh and dont forget to try the homemade strawberry lemonade, its really good stuff!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Pinkladybrady2012
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Boston Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Get out of park food and over to here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

What a fantastic break from eating burgers, fries and food that's all one colour. As other posts mention the soups, salads, baked potatoes, pizza, breads, desserts and even down to the coffee are excellent. Slight shame there's no protein option. I would happily pay more for some healthily cooked meat. That said it doesn't put me off going, I've been twice on this holiday and I really love it. Staff are very helpful, the place is spotlessly clean. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent choice, excellent price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My hubby is a big salad fan while i'm not so i was a bit sceptical as i thought there wouldn't be anything for me and my fussy 9yr old to eat but i was so wrong.
As well as the biggest salad bar i have aver seen there were about 6 differents soups all freshly made with fresh bread, jacket potatoes along with all the toppings like cheese, bacon and sour cream, pizzas, pastas, corn bread and then puddings, ice cream along with all the toppings, chocolate lava cake, chocolate muffins, apple and cinnamon muffins and fresh fruit. Drinks were also a plenty with soft and hot drinks.
We went 3 times during our 17 day holiday. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkshirecath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Tomatoes also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Sweet Tomatoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing