We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be hungry when you go there”

Shogun Japanese Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Shogun Japanese Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #329 of 3,924 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Florida Center
Description: The Shōgun Japanese Steakhouse dining experience combines skill, taste and entertainment unlike any other on International Drive. Our steakhouse highlights the culinary skills of our teppanyaki chefs as true shōguns of the grill. Watch as they manipulate heat and fire right in front of you to create a gratifying meal. Feast on freshly prepared dinners of beef, shrimp, chicken, and lobster. Vegetarian meals are also available. Group seating is available at Shōgun Japanese Steakhouse around the grill with front row seating to the action or at table settings. It's the perfect choice for family gatherings and small parties.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I had the special for dinner, which was the chicken, shrimp and steak combo which the chef cooked on the grill in front of us. It was very good. A lot of food for the price. ($19.95) Would definitely go back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ms_tinkerbell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mwd62, Public Relations Manager at Shogun Japanese Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Hi, ms_tinkerbell1,

Your input is genuinely appreciated, and we are so happy to hear that you left with a satisfied appetite. We strive to provide excellent food at an excellent price. Please come visit us again!

Thank you,

Amy Taylor
Public Relations Manager
Rosen Inn

assistant@deatrickpr.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 221 of 391 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Had a late night meal at the restaurant and we clearly had someone looking forward to closing time. Not that they were bad but service was very good. Cooking left no waiting time for eating and we enjoyed a table to ourselves. Had the Kabuki which was a great combo...highly recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wmedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mwd62, Public Relations Manager at Shogun Japanese Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Hello, wmedi,

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the Kabuki. The scallops make for a yummy combination with the chicken and shrimp! Please come see us again. We would love to have you!

Thank you,

Amy Taylor
Public Relations Manager
Rosen Inn

assistant@deatrickpr.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The food is awesome and the "show" (presentation) of the food on the Hibachi is just sooo good. When you stay at the ROSEN INN, you get a coupon for a percentage off (when available of course)

Thank Theresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mwd62, Public Relations Manager at Shogun Japanese Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Theresa L,

Dining at Shogun is a great entertainment experience as well, and we are happy that your chef gave you a night to remember. We are also happy to hear you were able to use your coupon because providing value to our hotel guests is a top priority. Please come visit again!

Sincerely,

Amy Taylor
Public Relations Manager
Rosen Inn

assistant@deatrickpr.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were staying at the Rosen Inn and it was just convenient to eat at Shogun. The front desk had given us a coupon and the kids love hibachi so it was an easy choice. That being said, we would definitely go out of our way to come here again. We were seated immediately and the service was outstanding all night. Our chef was Jerry and he was charismatic and a great cook! He engaged the kids and adults alike. The portions were unusually large for this type of dining. My husband and son are big eaters and they could not finish their meals. The price was much more affordable than the typical Benihana experience. Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Zazosmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mwd62, Public Relations Manager at Shogun Japanese Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Hi, Zazosmom,

It's great to hear stories like this! We are so glad our coupon has now made you a fan of Shogun, and that we will be seeing you again. We will also pass along to Jerry how much you enjoyed his service and his show!

Hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,

Amy Taylor
Public Relations Manager
Rosen Inn

assistant@deatrickpr.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This restaurant is located in the backside of the Rosen hotel on I Drive just North of Sand Lake Road.
I so wanted to love this place! I am always hopeful, so when I see a place with 3.5 stars, I always hope my experience will be at least a four. We checked in for our reservation a little early. and were seated after about 10 minutes. There are about 8 hibachi grills each seating 10 people each. The restaurant is very clean with kind of a modern minimalist decor. Not a lot of Japanese kitch here.
Our server eventually came and took the order for the table. 20 minutes later we got our drinks. I was not impressed. We had ordered Hibachi and soup and salad was included. This was served first. The Miso soup was just OK, but the ginger dressing on the salad was quite good. The chef came out and he started the show. He was pretty good. All the usual stunts and props. Volcano, egg roll, and so on. First came vegetables and then fried rice. Neither were bad, but not great. We had beef, chicken, shrimp, and scallops. All the meats were very good except the scallops which were over cooked and rubbery. The show was done, the chef disappeared and then it got strange, Everyone was done eating, but no one came. The server showed up 15 minutes later and tried to get everyone to buy another round of drinks. Everyone declined, and she left, we thought to get the checks. 15 minutes later she showed up without any checks. She was checking to see if anyone wanted more drinks. Everyone asked for their checks. Did I mention that it was about 60 degrees in the place and everyone was shivering. 20 minutes later she came back with the bills. I actually paid cash so we wouldn't have to wait 15 minutes for her to pick up the card and another 15 to bring it back to sigh. Did also mention that there is an 18% gratuity already added to your bill. I usually have no problem with this because I almost always tip more than that. In most cases I have found that a server has less incentive to take care of the customer if a tip is guaranteed. Tonight we spent about an hour eating and well over an hour waiting. It is only open 6-10.

Bottom line: Nice place, average food, and terrible service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wsoxwinyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mwd62, Public Relations Manager at Shogun Japanese Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear wsoxwinyes,

We are so sorry to hear about this experience. It is certainly not the standard, and we would like to correct it. We will email you to get more details about your experience. Thank you for taking the time to write you review.

Sincerely,

Amy Taylor
Public Relations Manager
Rosen Inn

assistant@deatrickpr.com
(407) 996-4444

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shogun Japanese Steakhouse also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Shogun Japanese Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing