We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Old Friend on the Avenue!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Park Plaza Gardens

Park Plaza Gardens
Ranked #1,086 of 3,764 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: New England Avenue
Description: For 30 years we have been setting the standard for exceptional food and service in Winter Park and we look forward to continuing this tradition for 30 more!Our atrium dining room provides the perfect setting for luncheons, special occasions, company functions, wedding receptions and romantic dinners, or enjoy our European style sidewalk cafe.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
286 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“An Old Friend on the Avenue!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have enjoyed this restaurant over the years; it has never disappointed me. It is under new management and the food is still wonderful. It is special place to go, no matter what the occasion should be. We had a lunch there today, for no particular reason, and it was simply marvelous. The attentiveness of the waitstaff, the precision of the preparation of the food, the ambiance, and the GM stopping by our table makes this place a success.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeenThereGoingSoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    59
    17
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Flagler beach
Level Contributor
82 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A gtreat spot on Park Avenue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Park Plaza Gardens is a great spot to sit and eat while watching the passing trade. My wife and I visit Winter Park several times a year for the Art shows, the Concours D'Elegance and to visit friends. Inevitably we end up sitting at the sidewalk cafe and enjoying lunch or appetizers with a Bloody Mary or a Martini. It is just a great overall experience and you never know who might come walking by or sitting at a table next to you. The food and drinks are very good if a little pricey but worth the price of admission if you love people watching and believe me the scenery is great -for men and women.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nsbeach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
335 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“A Special Kind Of Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Park Plaza has been my favorite restaurant for 30 years. On our last visit we were celebrating our anniversary and what a special place to celebrate. The atmosphere alone makes this restaurant my #1 choice. Ficus trees wrapped in small lights, white tablecloths and if you're lucky the train will go down the track adding to the charm. It really doesn't matter what you order, you will never be disappointed. On my last visit I had the grouper special and it was delicious. Reservations accepted, valet parking behind the restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cynthia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
90 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere. Good food too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We were the only patrons mid-afternoon. Sat in a great big semi-circular booth with a view of the entire room. Our waitress was very attentive. I had the very tasty burger with bleu cheese crumbles and carmalized onion. I chose the salad which was mixed field greens and a nice balsamic dressing. Yum! We also thoroughly enjoyed the artichoke spinach appetizer with lots of warm totilla chips. Sissy had a great grilled chicken burger. Check out the very unique (at least here in the US) Chinese wedding chest, interesting ceiling and when you are finished eating, wander through the lobby of the hotel. Built in 1931 (we were told) is massive fantastic woodwork not to be missed. Just fabulous artistic work. Loved the little jewelry shop tucked into the front window. What great use of space. And the balconys outside the restaurant were completely lined with overhanging ferns which made them completely obscured from my street level view. Great restaurant. Neat neat part of Orlando.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrssoprano1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Make Yourself at Home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is fine dining in an interesting setting. There is a full bar with tables where one can order off the restaurant menu. The bar is directly catercorner to the restaurant. The bar is dark but not uninviting. The restaurant is spread out into a large space with a lot of brick on the walls but is also not uninviting. The staff is young, mostly college kids, but very attentive and friendly, but not obtrusive. The menu is upscale and the kitchen does a nice job, using obvious quality and fresh ingredients in the food. Everyone at our table enjoyed their meal. The food comes out all together so that people aren't left staring into their plates while others are waiting on food. The food comes out as ordered and the staff does not have to ask who gets what. The wine list is nice and not overly pricey. The Bar folks know how to make a good cocktail. My opinion is that the price for the fare in this restaurant is fair. I didn't feel that I overpaid for what I got.

I would like to see the decor updated and the lighting changed in the restaurant. I would love to take my wife out to this restaurant for a romantic dinner but this place does not say "romance." it is more of a place to go with friends or for a business lunch or dinner. The Bar can also use a face lift.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodKnight1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Park Plaza Gardens also viewed

Winter Park, Central Florida
Winter Park, Central Florida
 
Winter Park, Central Florida
Winter Park, Central Florida
 
Winter Park, Central Florida
Winter Park, Central Florida
 

Been to Park Plaza Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing