We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Smiling Bison”
Review of The Smiling Bison - CLOSED

The Smiling Bison
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Gastropub
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Smiling Bison”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Overall a very nice experience and first time visitor. Sat at the bar with a buddy and enjoyed one of the many unique beer options available on tap. I ordered a mushroom risotta meal and found it very tasty. Will definately go back and recommend to others.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    19
    12
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Our New Favorite Place”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

After eating here a half dozen times in five months, we tried quite a few things on their changing menu. They source local produce and make their own pastas and doughs. The menu is quite creative. We've always had superb and knowledgeable service from the wait staff. They have music most nights. They have an extensive wine and beer list. Something for every palate. My husband keeps ordering the Bison Burger and Soft Pretzels. I've tried a different item each time and have not been disappointed - Bison Bolognese, Sweet Potato Gnocchi, Duck Pizza, Pork Belly. All have been wonderful. One of my favorites is the Poutine.

The atmosphere is nothing to write about. The restaurant is in a very old building that they've slapped a couple of coats of paint on the inside - definitely not the reason to try The Smiling Bison. Go for the food. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pah11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
136 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great beer, great food, great time!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Our experience here was excellent. Sat at the bar and enjoyed some good beer and tasty food. We tried the bison burger which was enjoyable, just a little small. We then tried the fried chicken which was outstanding. We can't wait to go back and try more food!

Helpful?
2 Thank Wickniley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lots of hype”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Don't get me wrong, the food was almost great. But I give this place three stars because I find the inside lacking atmosphere, which I want in a restaurant and I find it pricey. Expect to order two items to feel satisfied, or at a minimum share an appetizer. Decent beer list. I had the duck pizza. As I said, almost great but i felt it was soooo rich that it needed just a hint of acid -maybe a balsamic drizzle, or something to cut the fat. Then it would have been perfect. I would come here again if someone else was paying.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank otownvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“quality of meal was excellent”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I visited Smiling Bison with a group of friends because they took a reservation and overall glad we went. The menu was creative and everything ordered was prepared with quality ingredients. Some thought the portions were on the small side but I feel the price point was appropriate for the size/quality. The beer selection was fantatic and the waitress was knowledgable of the drafts. The only somewhat drawback to this place is the atmosphere. I "get' the casual northwest? feel they are trying to pull off-that's alright-but a little TLC here and there would do wonders! Also, the noise level was incredibly loud, could have been the big party near us, but softening the acoustics with some rugs or fabric would help. Despite the noise, I will go back again and hopefully it will be more manageable.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TR P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Smiling Bison also viewed

Sanford, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing