We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good Punjabi food in Orlando I will go again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Punjab Indian Restaurant

New Punjab Indian Restaurant
Ranked #818 of 3,639 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $20 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 26 Successful years.The first Indian restaurant of Central Fl.Rated 4 Stars.The only Indian restaurant recommended by The Unofficial Guide To Disney.Food prepared-Mild,medium,hot. Masala,Korma,Vindloo,Madras,Biryani and Tandoori dishes avalibleWine and beer. Takeout and Delivery.Kids Menu. Jain Vegieterian food.Fresh Homemade Breads and Desserts.Large Groups Pricing avalibleAlso Catering Is Our Specialty
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Punjabi food in Orlando I will go again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Good punjabi food, flavor was punjabi, palak paneer and chicken Spl was awesome. I normally don't write but made our day when I wanted to eat Indian. NANs were good. Good achar. Seek kabab were soft not precooked. In end for bday, they brought chocolate tandoori nan which will replace any cake hand down. Don't look at old reviews from 2011 may be they have learnt with time. I will go again. PK

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Realitychecknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    54
    23
    5
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pocatello, Idaho
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“good lunch special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Though the bulk of the menu is reserved for dinner, and entrees cost around 14 - 15 bucks or so, for an unfathomable deal, go for the 7.99 lunch special up until 2:30. Complete fresh cooked meal includes soup salad rice and naan. Very good food, and plenty to eat. Now at lunchtime the menu is more limited, with the most common dishes only (tikka masala, korma, etc) represented here. But it is not some lousy twice-warmed buffet - it's a sit down meal. The dinner menu is much more impressive, but double the price. Does serve alcohol.

On the side of a plaza on I-drive - not very visible. small-ish interior, atmosphere is reasonably nice. Don't let the location put you off. Also this is right next door to the "sizler" (sic) indian restaurant, which is more visible. Haven't been in there yet.

I would definitely return to New Punjab.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SEIdahoThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The New Punjab does not look like much from the outside, situated in a single storey building down a side alley on International Drive - but don't let that deter you from going inside. Both my husband and I had Madras shrimp and puri to start with. The portions that came were huge, and beautifully flavoured (the spicing enhanced rather than overpowered the king prawns). My chicken passanda was a rich, thick meaty sauce - not the sweetened orange stuff you often get. The better half's lamb jalfrezi was tasty too, with good quality meat. The pilau rice was good, and the nan bread soft and hot.
Service was quick and friendly. I would definately recommend this place for lovers of Indian food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Blythspirit68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Excellent, went based on a recommendation from an Indian lady I met at Epcot. I elected to atick with medium spice but probably could have done hot. Selected a lamb dish. Wish I could remember the name. Excellent flavor.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aepperso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Excellent meal,we had chicken biryani, asked for a sauce with it instead of raita which they happily provided ; biryani is one of our favourite dishes and this was a first rate one;also had good fresh veg curry and a very large portion of rice came with that.Very hot crisp naan. Would recommend.Good value and service

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cami117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Punjab Indian Restaurant also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to New Punjab Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing