We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Linda's La Cantina

Linda's La Cantina
Ranked #490 of 3,762 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
263 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was our first time at this restaurant and we weren't sure if we were even at the right entrance. It's just a plain black door with no markings, felt as though we were entering a speakeasy! But once inside we found it to be a charming place to dine. We met other friends there and spent the next two and a half hours eating and talking -never once did our waitress make us feel rushed. The black and white dining room was busy but not filled and the noise level was low, making conversation easy. Two of us ordered the the small filet mignon and were delighted to find it the perfect size for our appetites. We both ordered medium and they were grilled just right, juicy and delicious. I had the steamed broccoli - bright green and crisp, perfectly done. My husband had the 12 oz sirloin and he said it was very tasty, cooked perfectly. Our friend ordered the chicken parm with pasta and it was a hearty but manageable portion. We would come back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cyndi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    40
    16
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
311 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Steak and time warp”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

When you pull up to a restuarant at 5 pm and all the handicap parking places are full, you have a clue to who the place appeals to. Locals have been coming to this place for half a century and the decor brings back those times with black and white artwork of 1950's Orlando scenes, block glass and checkered table cloths with candlelight flickering on each table. Prices are 21st century but not outlandish. The food is good, nothing outstanding, but better than most. It was quiet enough to have a conversation and service was good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMaven2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Best Steak value in Orlando”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We have been coming to Linda's for over 30 years and the steaks are as good as any of the fine steak houses in Orlando, at about half of the price! The positives of this restaurant, which is always packed with locals, starts with the steak. The Steaks are seared on a flat top so the top and bottom have a perfect crust to them. I prefer the NY strip over the filet and it is cooked perfectly every time. Another huge positive with this Steakhouse is the fact that a salad and choice of potato or spaghetti (my preference) is included in the price of the steak, unlike the prohibitively expensive a la carte steakhouses (Del Frisco's, Ruth Chris, Flemings).

Ask for Mark, who has been a waiter at La Cantina for years.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PTelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
1,429 reviews
843 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 393 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

A truly local find. A superb steakhouse that cuts its meat on premise. Small menu but great prices for a restaurant that competes with the big boy steakhouses. Need to improve the small wine list but corkage is only $ 10

Helpful?
Thank Rschagrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Shores, Florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“What a cool piece of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

On a recommendation from a neighbor, we found this place. What a Hoot!

You will find lots of locals eating here, with good reason. Be sure to check out the flaming reflecting pool fireplace thing in the bar - it is incredible.

The steaks are not cheap, but are much cheaper than what you would pay for anywhere similar quality in downtown Orlando. They advertise "choice or higher.' I buy a lot of steaks, and these are prime, and sized larger than advertised. You get a salad (of your choice) and a side with the dinner - most places would charge $8 for the salad, and $4-6 for the side!

The vibe is cool 1947, with architecture and finishes you find in classic restaurants. Checkered tablecloths, white china, etc. Well worth a visit!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Linda's La Cantina also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Linda's La Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing