We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4.5 out of 5!”

K Restaurant & Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
K Restaurant & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #399 of 3,827 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: New Hampshire St.
Description: Orlandos longest running chef owned and operated restaurant. Located near downtown Orlando, this old house (converted to a restaurant) has a one of a kind herb/vegetable garden in the backyard. A proud sponsor of all local farms and artisans since day 1! The chef/owner, Kevin Fonzo, has been awarded almost every foodie award the city has to offer as well as being a James Beard Award nominated chef.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“4.5 out of 5!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Wonderful restaurant in Orlando's original College Park neighborhood. All meats and vegetables are locally sourced--some from their own garden. Nice eclectic selection of New American and Italian dishes. My wife and I both started with the K stack, which was fresh and suburb. She had the Eggplant Parmesan, also stacked, which was the best she had eaten. I had the ricotta gnocchi with an unusual bolognese from locally sourced pork and was very happy.

Staff was very friendly and helpful, and service was impeccable. Interesting, reasonably priced wine list (if small).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    52
    12
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent (hidden gem)”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Friendly, efficient and quality servers who presented the food that they served in a professionall manner, We had a group of 10 who are not shy. If anything was not up to "snuff," the restaurant would have heard about it. Guess what, everyone was extremely well satisfied with the food and the friendly efficient service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paulr44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Great gift certificate!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We dined at K Restaurant with a gift certificate gained at a silent auction. An excellent win! My husband and I ordered 5 small plates to share and, with one exception, they were all superb! The only reservation was the chicken livers. This selection was NOT a small plate, and not one that was going to be shared. The plate was very dry and rather salty. Every other dish was fabulous – deviled eggs, beet salad, beef tartare, and the fried green tomato/crab salad. The Malbec by-the-glass was also a very nice pairing. The service was also amazingly perfect.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SchnauzerBridget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome food, great staff”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I took our grown daughter and 2 of her friends for a night out. Originally had a 7:30 reservation. They called us and asked if we could change to 8:00. We agreed. The gave us a bottle of wine. Small intimate place, well layed out and usage of the space. We did not feel crowded.
Rocky was our waiter. He made the night. Just ask for his station and you will not be disappointed. He is knowledgeable, funny and entertaining. Food was well prepared. Butternut squash bisque, duck breast, filet mignon, salads..all were great.
We will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Not Quite!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was a hard review to write because I had very high expectations for this restaurant. My husband and I visited here 2 weeks ago. We started with the chicken livers because we love livers and cook them quite frequently. They were definitely missing something. The flavor was just not quite there. We mentioned it to our waiter and he suggested we try a house made hot pepper relish with the livers. The relish was good. My fish entrée came with a succotash. the succotash was good, but the fish was dry and the flavor was not developed. My husband thought his swordfish was just ok. We ordered the lobster mac-n-cheese on the side. Neither one of us cared for it. The cheese had a weird texture. For dessert we split the bread pudding, which is my all time favorite dessert. Once again just average or less. The best thing about the meal was the chef suggested wine. The food was just average and at times less than average. The service was impeccable though. Our waiter was awesome and the atmosphere was cozy. The meal came to $120.00. It was our most expensive meal during our 6 day Orlando visit. It was also the worst meal. We just expected so much more. We will definitely skip this on our next Orlando visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbear8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed K Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Winter Park, Central Florida
 
Winter Park, Central Florida
Winter Park, Central Florida
 
Winter Park, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to K Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing