We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small restaurant with big city tastes!”

K Restaurant & Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
K Restaurant & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #403 of 3,828 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: New Hampshire St.
Description: Orlandos longest running chef owned and operated restaurant. Located near downtown Orlando, this old house (converted to a restaurant) has a one of a kind herb/vegetable garden in the backyard. A proud sponsor of all local farms and artisans since day 1! The chef/owner, Kevin Fonzo, has been awarded almost every foodie award the city has to offer as well as being a James Beard Award nominated chef.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Small restaurant with big city tastes!”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

K Restaurant is a former home that has been converted into an eating establishment. Food is delicious, elegant and presented in a pleasing manner. The K Stack salad was fabulous, large enough to share, steak(the special that night) was cooked to perfection. The prix fixe was also a great hit with one of the members of our party. Great wait staff and service is comfortably casual--don't be in a hurry. We were visiting Orlando and would definately eat here again. Only drawback for me was the airflow. The restaurant was crowded and may have had something to do with the temperature of the restaurant which was a little too warm for me--we were seated on the enclosed portion of the porch. Recommend having reservations.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mvsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    52
    12
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We love this cozy restaurant. We could still sit outside it was not to hot. Loved the tomatoe salad with crab followed by the mac and cheese so rich. I was so full passed on dessert. Would go back again

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fairster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Ecectic Atmosphere”
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We found out about K due to a Living Social coupon. Spend 25 get a 50 gift certificate, and boy was it worth it! We loved the atmosphere (an old house), and our server was fantastic. They ran out of the bottle of wine we ordered so they brought us the next one up without a charge, and our food was simply phenom. We will absolutly go back.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I have been to K many times, brought pretty much all of my friends here at least once. I absolutely love it.
It's located in college park in an old house, outside seating is available as well. Menu is not big and changes regularly but you will always find meat/fish/poultry as well as some very unusual and original appetizers and freshest salads.
They buy food from local farms and grow some themselves!!! Everything is fresh as can be.
I can't say enough complements to the chef! I have never had an average meal there. Everything I had was amazingly delicious.
To me, this is like your best friends house, very relaxed and comfortable and a friend just happened to be an amazing chef!!!! Place where you can celebrate your anniversary (which we will) or just stop by for lunch/dinner on a regular day.
I will come back for as long as I live in Orlando. My absolute favorite place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TrinityV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Garden to plate”
Reviewed June 9, 2011

An old house or a restaurant? Looks more like an old house, but going to eat at this old house is a treat of its own. Turning into the loose pebble stone driveway/parking lot it feels more like visiting some lost Florida uncle's home rather than a restaurant. Cruising from the parking lot to the main house one can't help but wonder what is going on in the backyard. Take a peek. It is ground to plate. There is a herb garden thriving right in the back of the restaurant. How organic is that? It does not get fresher than that! Wait, a table with chairs in the garden? Could one actually dine out there? Under the stars, amongst the herbs.....????

The inside is like a personal dining room with a couple of walled sections. It is very cozy and inviting. There is a very relaxed bar, almost like someone's kitchen counter with bar stools. Inside the bathroom is a salt cleanser, probably the only restaurant in Orlando with this feature. Outside is this grand patio or veranda. It is covered and faces the road with fans and a nice evening breeze. They allow four legged guests.

2009 Cuvee de Blanc, Huguenot Cellar, Santa Ynez Valley, CA. (Grenache Blanc, Sauvignon Blanc & Gewurztraminer) A clean, crisp, herbaceous, white blend that was surprisingly dry and an easy warm climate drinking wine. Perfect to swirl and sip on a veranda.

Lillet Rouge Aperitif de France Beautiful deep ruby red color. Initial aromas of red grapes, raspberries, and blackberries. It is clean, tart, and fruity. The lemon twist adds another layer of citrus flavors.

Prosciutto croquettes wild ramps, pesto aioli dipping sauce was light, crisp, and creamy. Nice starter.

Fresh bread with thyme, honey, and cinnamon butter. The butter was delicious.

Shrimp and Grits creole bbq Florida rock shrimp, creamy cheddar Logan's Turnpike Grits. The shrimp was a little overcooked but the flavors were spot on. This dish had a bold creole flavor. The grits were creamy and smooth.

Roast Quail house made chorizo sausage stuffed "hopping john" bbq. Tender deboned quail was seasoned ever so slightly and combined well with the chorizo. Black eye peas and sweet corn complimented this dish well.

Maple Leaf Farms Duck Breast herb risotto, Florida blueberry -cherry marmalade. The risotto was slightly grainy but the duck breast was tender, succulent, and flavorful.

Pecan Pie with vanilla ice cream. Nice textures and taste.

The freshness of ingredients and culinary techniques makes the food sizzle as the shining star. Service was unobtrusive, informative, and friendly. The cozy quaintness of this beautiful cottage with veranda is the quintessential Florida home of a bygone era. The current owner is gracious enough in sharing his herb garden and home to all of us.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerFoodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed K Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Winter Park, Central Florida
 
Winter Park, Central Florida
Winter Park, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to K Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing