We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly great food, pricey”

Margaritaville Orlando
Ranked #482 of 4,059 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Florida Center
Cross street: Universal Blvd / Hollywood Way
Transit: A large number of local hotels offer free shuttle service to and from Universal Orlando. Please check with where you are staying for further information.
Description: Escape to Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, right in the center of Universal Orlando CityWalk. From a volcano flowing with margaritas to suspended airplanes, Margaritaville is more than a restaurant; it's a state of mind. Margaritaville has everything you need to have a good time: great island-inspired food, four unique bars, live music and two levels of outdoor seating overlooking CityWalk. Chill out with a margarita on the Porch of Indecision or dip your toes in the sand at the Lone Palm Airport.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We grabbed a bite here while visiting Universal's Islands of Adventure park. It was an incredibly convenient location. We were expecting average food, but we were really surprised by how good everything was. We had a delicious cuban sandwich and portobella burger. Everything was very pricey, which is to be expected in a restaurant near a theme park. The restaurant is pretty loud, which wasn't too great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtneyGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritaville Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Melissa H - Thank you for coming in! We are very pleased our food left you pleasantly surprised. We will share your review with the team. Hope to see you the next time you're visiting Orlando!

Margaritaville Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,755)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,508 - 2,512 of 3,758 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

I went to margaritaville during happy hour and had a house margarita along side shrimp and fries. The location is amazing sitting outside watching the world go by, but be aware the happy hour is only for drinks not food (contrary to what the sign says!!). The food was average but the location made it worth a try.

Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtneyGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritaville Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Angela J - Thank you for stopping by for some food and drinks! We apologize for any confusion on our signs and will properly address your concerns. We are very happy you had a great time and we hope to see you again soon!

Margaritaville Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Had a nice lunch here twice!! Must try the new 16.00 desert!! Its AMAZING!! They however need to improve their "Dinner and a Movie menu".

Thank RCB9512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtneyGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritaville Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

RCB9512 - Glad you loved the Chocolate Hurricane dessert! Thank you for stopping in and we are glad you had an enjoyable lunch!

Margaritaville Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I've been intrigued by the Margaritaville restaurants for many years and finally decided that I was going in. I did not have high expectations for the food or anything really but I have to admit that we had a great time.

First of all if you are visiting Universal Studios stop in and make reservations early in the day to avoid a long wait. The last thing you will want after a long day in the hot, Florida sun is to wait for your table.

We ordered boat drinks. They were ok...not the best drinks you've ever had but they did the job. We also ordered crab dip...again not the best crab dip but not the worst either. I had the surf and turf and my husband had shrimp. My older daughter had the Cheeseburger in Paradise and the younger one had a Cheeseburg off the kids menu. The reviews were not great but not bad.

The service was fantastic. Our server was great...very friendly and on the spot with whatever we needed. They had a delightful young man on stilts who made balloon animals for the kids.

The atmosphere was a lot of fun...this is why you came. They played lots of Jimmy Buffet songs and everyone clapped and sang along. It was great! So after all that you may say...why the Very Good rating. It's because it was so fun. I felt like I was at a party.

If you like kitschy touristy experiences during your vacations, you will love this. If you are a foodie..you will be in hell.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mrs_Mazk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtneyGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritaville Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Mrs_Mazk - Thank you for visiting us! We really appreciate you stopping in and are very happy you enjoyed your experience and the party atmosphere! We want our food to match the atmosphere and will address your comments! Thank you for the feedback and we hope you come back again!

Margaritaville Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Don't get me wrong the bar is fantastic and its in a great busy location where you can people watch for hours but the food isn't great. When we started going to this place [circa 6 years ago] it was fantastic with the best [and most amazing to look at] 'Volcano nachos' but overtime it seems to have lost the emphasis on the food. This time the nachos were even bigger but they were dry and unappetising - more is definitely less!
After such high hopes we gave it a second run the following night, ordered something different, great drinks, attentive staff and a happy vibe but again food not great
I definitely urge you to visit the bar [Lone Palm] as Robert the barman is really lovely and fun but just grab a bar snack here and don't venture into the restaurant

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GeorgieH16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtneyGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritaville Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

GeorgieH16 - Thank you so much for your continued visits to our restaurant. We take your feedback seriously and will be addressing your comments! We hope you stop back into the restaurant and continue to experience the exceptional atmosphere and service!

Margaritaville Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margaritaville Orlando also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Margaritaville Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing