We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long wait but worth it...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Margaritaville

Margaritaville
Ranked #268 of 3,744 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Florida Center
Cross street: Universal Blvd / Hollywood Way
Transit: A large number of local hotels offer free shuttle service to and from Universal Orlando. Please check with where you are staying for further information.
Description: Escape to Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, right in the center of Universal Orlando CityWalk. From a volcano flowing with margaritas to suspended airplanes, Margaritaville is more than a restaurant; it's a state of mind. Margaritaville has everything you need to have a good time: great island-inspired food, four unique bars, live music and two levels of outdoor seating overlooking CityWalk. Chill out with a margarita on the Porch of Indecision or dip your toes in the sand at the Lone Palm Airport.
Brevard County, FL
Level Contributor
178 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Long wait but worth it...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We waited about an hour on a recent Friday night for a group of 5. It was worth the wait! Such a fun place! The stilt walkers were making all kinds of crazy balloon creatures for kids and adults alike. There was a giant screen playing Jimmy Buffet concerts and a volcano that "erupted" filling a huge beer glass (or at least that's what I think it was!!). The food was very tasty and moderately priced, considering where you were! Service was very efficient. We will eat here again when we are at Universal CityWalk.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tripsahoy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtneyGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritaville, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
tripsahoy16 - We are thrilled all 5 of you had a fun time, enjoying our food, entertainment and atmosphere. Next time you visit the parks, try our priority seating - that should help cut down your wait time! Thanks for visiting and we can't wait to see you again!

Margaritaville Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,258
    1,083
    548
    221
    130
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We Love this gem, I want one of those seats to take back to England!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Always head for this restaurant. made the trip for the last 5 years, to have a great meal and the fun. Like to chill out before a meal on those yellow lounger chairs outside, will try to buy one when we are back 1st may 2013. Great gluten free menu, so my wife can enjoy a "Cheese burger in Paradise" P,S we tune in to Radio Margaritaville to cheer us up back in cold and grey English winters.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tilleyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtneyGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritaville, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
tilleyfamily - Thank you, thank you, thank you! We appreciate all of your visits and we're thrilled our food and fun keep you coming back again and again! Also, we're happy we can spend some time with you over the radio between visits. Can't wait to see you again soon...we'll save you a seat!

Margaritaville Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An Excellent Way to End the Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

After passing this place on the way back to the hotel two nights in a row, we decided to stop in for a bite on our last night in town. It looked a little run down but the place was pretty lively, and I figured the owner could use a few bucks.

We started out with a great batch of fried pickles. My wife ordered the fajita beef salad which was perfect, I ordered the baja fish tacos which came with the best black beans and rice I've tasted, and my son devoured his fried shrimp dinner. The fellow that waited on us could only be described as efficiently mellow. He shot the breeze with us, didn't write a thing down, and never missed a beat on the order. Wish I'd gotten his name.

An interesting piece of trivia, it seems a musician wrote a song about this place. What are the chances that a guy would write a song about a place near Universal Studios in Orlando, but I suppose Margaritaville has a better ring to it than NBA City. I hope this place makes it, and judging by the crowd on a Monday night they seem to be doing something right.

I highly recommend stumbling your way up the stairs if you're looking for a good place to eat after a day with the family, and I wonder what ever happened to that musician?

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GK_72201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtneyGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritaville, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
GK_72201 - We're happy you stumbled upon us and joined us for dinner! We are so pleased you and your family enjoyed our fun atmosphere, food and friendly service. Please come back and see us the next time you are at the parks!

Margaritaville Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckley Wa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place for a birthday.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We got here just at 6, that is when the stilt walkers showed up and livened the place up. The balloon hats are a real laugh!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank volksplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtneyGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritaville, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
volksplane - Thank you for bringing the birthday party to our place! It's great to know we provided a fun and memorable atmosphere for your celebration!

Margaritaville Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, good seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Not a bad wait only 20 minutes on a Monday night, while waiting enjoyed the bar and very fast freindly service at the bar. The special was grouper - we both had it was very good and salad was good. People on stilts were fun making ballons. Reasable price.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GarryCari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtneyGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritaville, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
GarryCari - We're thrilled you found great food, service and fun at our place! Thank you for spending your Monday night with us!

Margaritaville Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margaritaville also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Margaritaville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing