We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding dinner!”

Jiko - The Cooking Place
Ranked #22 of 3,808 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Jiko – The Cooking Place fuses the bold flavors of traditional African, Indian and Mediterranean cuisine at Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge.Twin wood-burning ovens roar and the soothing, warm colors of an African sunset bring energy to this remarkable restaurant. The menu features modern cuisine with an African flair. Delight your palate with dishes that change seasonally, such as braised short ribs, Chermoula-roasted prawns, and Peri Peri roasted chicken, along with conventional favorites. Take a culinary tour of Africa with tantalizing appetizers such as grilled wild boar tenderloin, crispy beef bobotie roll and brick oven-fired flatbreads. Watch the chefs prepare each meal in The Cooking Place, a show kitchen with a rich atmosphere befitting the beauty of this unique restaurant. Jiko also offers 2 tantalizing wine-and-dine experiences: Jiko Wine Dinner Series: Four times a year, Jiko partners with renowned winemakers from South Africa to take you on a culinary journey. The chefs prepare a 6- to 8-course meal carefully designed to complement the unique characteristics of the African terroir. As you dine, the winemakers paint a picture of their vineyards through the taste of their wines—and Jiko's Wine Room transforms into a mixture of flavors, friends, aromas and conversations that go into the night.Jiko Wine Tastings: Every Wednesday, explore the South African wine regions as you taste unique wines paired with artisanal cheese.Whether you're seeking a decadent wine dinner or a vibrant accompaniment to your meal, Jiko offers wine options to suit your style.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding dinner!”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently moved to Orlando and we have been eating "around the world" at the various restaurants at Disney and in town. This is a restaurant not to be missed. The food was the best we have had yet, and service exceptional. Atmosphere is warm and stylish - definitely more of an adult restaurant.

I was quite impressed at the extent of their gluten-free options. We eat gluten-free by preference, but typically find the gluten-free menus to be very pared down. At Jiko, we had a wide variety of excellent choices. My husband ordered the wild boar appetizer, which was delicious and melted in our mouths. His entree was the Pepper Steak and he actually had to put his head down to pause once he tasted it because of the delicious flavors that he wanted to savor. I had the short ribs without the spicy sauce and both of our dishes were clearly designed for the flavors of the accompanying purees and vegetables to compliment the main entree. When eaten together in one bite they were absolutely fantastic.

I highly recommend this restaurant. We are considering a return trip to try their Thanksgiving price-fixe dinner in November. As other reviewers have stated, it can be quite a pricey dinner - for two of us with appetizers, entree and dessert without alcohol it came to $80 per person before tip.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank dzier1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,196
    319
    126
    41
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Absolutely loved this restaurant, service great and food fantastic and tasty. Really different menu but also caters to kids. Macaroni cheese yummy. Nice wine and coffees. Really enjoyed the experience, this is quite a pricey place to eat especially if you have a decent bottle of wine with the meal but would highly recommend experience will definitely visit again next time i visit. I wish I could remember waiters name as I would have liked to thank the manager for the service we experienced from him.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Seated at the Cooking Table”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We had made reservations at Boma for a child free night. When we got there, it was so loud and crowded and there were kids everywhere! Nothing wrong with that, but, not what we expected for a date night;) we noticed Jiko right across the hall. It was low lit and much quieter. People were dressed up (not still in their sweaty park hopping clothes). We promptly asked both restaurants if we could change our reservations. Jiko staff told us, "the only seating we have available is at the cooking table. Would that be okay?". There was no extra fee for this seating and we were happy to be offered the seats. The staff from Boma walked us over to do an official reservation transfer!
We spent our entire meal talking with the chefs at the station. They gave us wonderful suggestions based on what we told them we liked to eat. They even told us tidbits about the food and preparations of the food! It made it all even more special.
I had the monkfish. It was out of this world delicious! For dessert, the chefs ice creams. Loved the rooibos flavor. Though, the avacado was highly questionable:( My husband had the wild boar appetizer (which he said was the best thing ever) and the hanger steak for his meal (again, he loved it). His dessert was the Malva pudding (a lot like a rich tres leche).
It is a very expensive dining experience. If you plan on eating here, budget about $100 per person to include tip. We don't splurge like this but every few years. For us, it was totally worth it:)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Jiko is a pure joy !”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

I am a foodie and I'm not afraid to try new things . Half way through our wdw we arranged for our son to attend kids camp at AKL so we could enjoy a date night . We weren't disappointed ! Delicious wines, great service , fabulous presentations . The waitress explained every dish that we asked - and they also had gluten free , dairy free and vegan menus . I eat gluten free and didn't feel restricted even being offered gluten free bread. The food was unique but not so unfamiliar meaning you could try exotic meats like bison if you choose to , but there chicken and steak as well. The atmosphere is lovely . Though kids are welcome it was moderate noise and still had an evening feel . A new Disney favorite !

Helpful?
Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“ok.. but overpriced.”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

I liked the Braised Beef Short Rib, but I asked without onions and was given onions in my plate. So had to return it then did not come back overcooked. Wondering if it was the same plate that they overheated.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SC_0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jiko - The Cooking Place also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Jiko - The Cooking Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing