We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and food”
Review of Hemingway's

Hemingway's
Reserve with OpenTable
Hemingway's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #157 of 3,790 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: SR 535
Chicago IL
Level Contributor
177 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Had a little trouble finding restaurant as we did not know it was inside the Hyatt Grand Cypress Hotel gated grounds and past the entrance as it is only 0.1 mile off SR535 . Valet parking available at hotel lobby but self parking in area 5 is closer. Either way have the parking ticket validated by the hostess.
Atmosphere is great as the all glass walls give a feeling of eating outdoors which you would not want to do in Orlando in the summer (95 with 95% humidity tonight). We saw a beautiful sunset from our table. Grounds are gated and for guests only but the walk from the lobby thru manicured gardens and very pretty, inviting us to stay there next trip to Orlando.
Staff is very friendly and helpful explaining menu items. Wine list is good and food was excellent from the Ceviche Duo appetizer to the ball of chocolate covered peanut butter ice cream dessert. Ahi Tuna cooked to my liking as was the snapper for my wife. Definitely coming back on next trip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    111
    49
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We recently ate at Hemingway's in Lake Buena Vista at The Grand Cypress Resort. I had the fried oyster appetizer, my husband had a Caesar salad and our friend had the scallops. They were all priced at $11. The oysters were to die for and a great price for the complexity of ingredients. I had the swordfish for my main course and it was cooked to perfection. It was a "local pink swordfish" and just delicious. Our friend doesn't like grits and his crab cakes came with cheesy grits and he ate all of it. My husband had the ahi tuna. He said his was comparable to Roy's which is our favorite restaurant in Orlando. We didn't order dessert but the waitress brought us a complimentary signature dessert which was key lime pie with meringue. Most delicious. The waitress found out we were locals so gave us the prix fixe menu for September. We will definitely head back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nanacarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely top notch food”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Service was great, very helpful as i didnt know what to order, the waiter knew the menu so well. I sterted with the scallop which were good but not the best, then the yellow finned tuna steak, sushi style. The food was not over priced, it wasn't cheap but then you were being served great food.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Delish!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal at Hemingway's! The calamari appetizer was one of the best I've ever had. Super tender calamari and nice and crispy on the exterior. Our entree's was both fish dishes that were perfectly prepared. Our server was friendly- the atmosphere was nice- and the price wasn't outrageous for hotel dining. We'd definitely eat here again!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank wanderlustfamily17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
141 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Delicious food, exceptional customer sevice”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Hemingways should not be missed while staying at the Hyatt Grand Cypress. Beautiful grounds lead up to the entrance and once inside you are greeted by a very pleasant staff. Our table by the window had a lovely view and it was nice and quiet. Our server Jean came over to introduce herself and we liked her immediately. I informed her I had a gluten allergy and she immediately made sure gluten free bread was brought to the table along with their wonderfully smelling house bread. We ordered the crispy skin snapper and the bacon wrapped filet mignon, both were out of this world. I can't forget to mention the outstanding dessert and espresso we had. A big thank you to Jean who was very attentive and personable throughout the whole meal and really made dining here a pleasure.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeenAr0undTheW0rld1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hemingway's also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Hemingway's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing