We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“happy and satisfied!”
Review of Friendly's

Friendly's
Ranked #29 of 158 Dessert in Orlando
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ennis, Clare, Ireland
1 review
“happy and satisfied!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We ate at this restaurant twice on our last visit to Orlando. We always enjoyed our food here in the past and this time was the same with only a few exceptions.
The menu choice has been reduced the surf and turf is gone from the menu, much to my husbands dismay, and the decor is somewhat tired. We were a party of 6 and the table was a bit cramped.
On the plus side, the staff were very professional, knowlegdable about the entire menu, and friendly without being too annoying. free refills and various sauces arrived at our table without being asked for. Most restaurants can do food, but its always the staff that make the difference. I had the honey bbq chicken melt with fries, and it was delish! everyone was happy with their order. portion sizes were good too.we never had to wait long for a table (july 2013)
Now for the best part ...dessert mmmm . they have an extremely varied menu, every kind of ice cream is on it. It's what they do best! go for the ice cream alone.
On a 3 week holiday we had to vary our eating out choices according to budget, sometimes we spent 3 times as much and were more disappointed! and Friendly's was great for the days we didn't want to spend too much. we found it to be great value for money, nice and relaxed.Looking fwd to my next visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlmaSullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    342
    186
    72
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“What happened!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We came to Orlando in 2006 and had such good memories the service and food. We were really excited to go back. Well when we arrived the place was quite empty and our server was less than friendly. There was no upbeat banter just monotone slightly odd service.
We looked at the menu and it had all changed, no steak tips, chicken in a basket or noodle soup. Just limited generic dinner food.
Our meals were ok but nothing special and was really disappointed. The old friendly's was warm and inviting and it was now cold and lacked atmosphere.

Bring back the old friendly's please

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lady_lolo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“close to hotel but just a diner”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

limited menu options but fair food seems to be geared toward their icecream options which looked good

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Junta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great dessert/ice cream place”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a great meal here at Friendly's, very helpful and attentive service. I would recommend this restaurant more of an ice cream/dessert place than somewhere to grab a main meal. The main meals are ok, but portions are small and prices average. However, for ice creams, desserts and sundaes then this is the place without a shadow of a doubt !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Superhoop68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly - 'Inclined to help or support'”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stopped by 'Friendly's' for two milkshakes at 1430 on Friday. Attempted to order from the outside window; went inside, expecting to find that the ringing of the outside bell went unattended because they were busy, but this was not the case. The less than 'friendly' waitstaff appeared to be 'waiting' at the counter. Much to my regret, I waited 30 minutes and paid $10 for two of what I hope doesn't normally pass as milkshakes at 'Friendly's - an ice crystal mass in the bottom of a cup of a liquid milky substance. Between the less than 'friendly' staff and the extremely poor quality of the food product, I can't recommend that a vacationer wanting a milkshake on a hot day, take the time out of their vacation schedule to stop here, versus one of the many fast food establishments in close proximity to this location; it will take less of your valuable vacation time, and eat up less of your vacation budget. This is definitely not the Friendly's of old.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NaptownTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friendly's also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Friendly's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing