We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice View”
Review of California Grill

California Grill
Ranked #49 of 3,777 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $80
Cuisines: Japanese, American, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: "California Grill is a Signature Dining restaurant that serves up award-winning gourmet dinners and sweeping views atop Disney's Contemporary Resort. Venture into this vibrant and charged atmosphere and watch the creation of culinary masterpieces in the on-stage kitchen.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice View”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This restaurant has improved due to the new renovations. Our food was very good and the crème brulee was excellent. One thing we don't like about this restaurant is the noise. We were also seated in a high traffic area, so it was a little distracting.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,861 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,852
    503
    293
    136
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing View, Disappointing Food”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Ate here late on evening in order to view the fireworks. The view was amazing and definitely worth the trip however the decor was less than inspired and was rather boring. The service was initially disinterested but improved as the evening wore on. The food, while trying to be hip and innovative, was mostly dull and poorly executed. Both fish dishes we received were undercooked and almost raw. I would suggest that you skip dinner and plan to go up for a drink and perhaps dessert to watch the fireworks.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Catsaver911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

If not for the dining plan we would never have chosen to eat here. It took 2 dining credits but was well worth it. The food was excellent. Out server was very attentive and the view of the Magic Kingdom and the Castle was breathtaking

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank arcny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Overhyped, overpriced.”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Wasn’t overly impressed with this signature restaurant.

Overhyped, overpriced.

There are better signature and non-signature restaurants on Disney.

Dress code, really what dress code, when most people didn’t abide by it.

Service was mediocre, slow and not very attentive, especially for a signature restaurant. My waiter didn’t really know the menu when I questioned him. He basically skimmed over my questions. Shame shame.


Food was fair, nothing special. Not impressed when they over-salted my fish which was absolutely inedible, I had to drink not only all my water by that of my husband’s as well. Had to wait 5 minutes to find our waiter to advise him of this. This was unacceptable for this type of restaurant.


They were training people when we were dining there and I found that a bit annoying, as I don’t really appreciate the whispering and finger pointing by staff as to how the tables are numbered, laid out, 4 top vs 5 top and etc. Not just once by twice during dinner. This should be done when the restaurant is not in service.

Bathroom was messy, unclean.

Would not go again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mewosery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
127 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Worth doing once!”
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

The view is outstanding. The service efficient. Food was good. Very expensive. The best part was going onto the balcony for Wishes.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank aml3679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Grill also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to California Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing