We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The noise kept it from being a "4".”
Review of Bongos Cuban Cafe

Bongos Cuban Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Bongos Cuban Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #364 of 3,776 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Spanish, Cuban, Central American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Lake Buena Vista
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
94 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The noise kept it from being a "4".”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This was our first dinner reservation during our week-long stay at Disney. Our reservations were for 6:00, but we were hot and tired from walking around Downtown Disney and decided to see if they could seat us early. The staff was accomodating and we were seated upstairs. The atmosphere is visually appealing and the large spiral staircase was beautiful. We actually had two servers (one of whom was in training), but they attended to us very well. The food was fairly good, although they go light on substance (meat) and heavy on filler (rice and plantain). What kept this from being "Very Good" was the fact that it was so loud. You basically had to shout at the person next to you just to be heard. Kind of takes away from the dining experience. Other than that, not a bad dining choice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Copperdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    805
    714
    441
    252
    292
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Matilda, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Tasty, but not a lot of options for vegetarians”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Bongo's offers a unique dining experience in Downtown Disney. Cuban food is quite delicious and the food served at Bongo's is no exception. I would suggest not going here if you are a vegetarian. Most of the dishes are meat-heavy. The atmosphere is very nice. We sat in a booth upstairs which was located in a little alcove. Our waitress was fantastic with excellent service. The hostess was a little rude, but fortunately we didn't interact with her much. I recommend getting the plantains as a side dish. My favorite!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahbethe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A taste of Cuba in Downtown Disney”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This restaurant has a great atmosphere and a HUGE menu, complete with a large selection of Cuban drinks. I went during the day for lunch, but would have loved to come back at the night for the live entertainment.
The food was average, and the portions were large, but the service was just so-so. I would come back, but probably just for drinks and appetizers and to experience the atmosphere and live entertainment.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JillEJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best food that I've ever eaten out”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

After 3 days of being on a cruise our family went to Downtown Disney where we saw Bongos knowing that you usually need reservations we checked quickly to see if we could be seated and got seated right away the building was cool to look at and very clean the food was amazing best food I have ever had the arroz con pollo was really good it came almost like pulled pork it's what the meat looked like with onions in top and a side of white rice the food was so good
I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who has taste buds

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jn059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
175 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“One of the better Disney dining options downtown”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

It is always packed, but sometimes, if you're just a couple, you can get a seat in the bar in the back and actually get through in a decent amount of time. The food is enjoyable, the drinks are potent enough and tasty, and there is normally some fun music going on.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShazDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bongos Cuban Cafe also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Bongos Cuban Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing