We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My personnal favourite”
Review of Bongos Cuban Cafe

Bongos Cuban Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Bongos Cuban Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #366 of 3,790 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cuban, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Lake Buena Vista
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“My personnal favourite”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We ate here on our dining plan.I liked the sound of the Paella which next to the price said market price.I figured we would have to pay a supplement.But we didnt it was included it came with a whole lobster on top! crab claws aswell as clams ,shrimp etc in it delicious . Service was perfect,ambiance outstanding dont miss this one!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank tracey n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    815
    725
    444
    255
    295
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Average Meal”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We recently ate dinner at Bongos Cafe in Downtown Disney. We arrived with reservations and were promptly seated. Based upon online reviews I ordered the Bistec de Palomilla. It was a huge plate's worth with rice and fried plantains. My friend ordered the Bistec a la Milanesa. She was somewhat disappointed as it tasted like chicken fried steak. The service was spotty. After we ordered, our server disappeared. Overall, it was okay.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ntz4bbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Creat food. Period.”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I grew up in Tampa Florida, where Cuban restaurants are popular. This place was outstanding and I'd definately go back again. I just asked the server to bring me something good and authentic--i had some pork dish--that was the right call. Yum.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mr O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central MN
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Loud...but WOW!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Told we would have a 30-45 minute wait, but beeped in after 15 minutes.
The cuban music was very loud...not conducive to carrying on a conversation at the table, but it was a fun atmosphere. A band started playing while we were dining and a small dance floor is available for your entertainment.
We were seated at an upstairs table for 2.
We shared a large appetizer for 2...discovering that there was a lot of good food. We actually could have quit eating at this point, but had ordered a sampler type dish to share. We ended up with a lot of left overs, which was great for lunch the next day.
We thought the food was great ~ I'm no expert when it comes to cuban food though. Different sauces to try, we love the spicy options! The fried food was not too greasy (I personally don't care for plantain), the meats were flavorful and tender.
We will return on our next visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank wkndfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant, West Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“SKIP IT!!!”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We ate here before cirque du solies and it was terrible expensive tasteless and poor service. wolfgangs is pricey but the food is atleast better. I have also hear that the house of blues is very good but we didn't get to eat there our selves. since you are paying the high price might as well go somewhere else and get better food

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank sunshine2382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bongos Cuban Cafe also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Bongos Cuban Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing