We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful food, hard to talk” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bongos Cuban Cafe

Bongos Cuban Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Bongos Cuban Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #376 of 3,744 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Spanish, Cuban, Central American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Lake Buena Vista
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“wonderful food, hard to talk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

yes it's pricey but this is downtown disney duh! everything we ate was great. we had the sampler appetizer and liked it all. best part was my one year old daughter really enjoyed the music and enjoyed the busy-ness AND ate almost everything we put in front of her. She really enjoyed the plantains. everyone in our party enjoyed our meals. great plantains and beans and rice.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank surfnjesusfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    771
    688
    423
    245
    291
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
176 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Like Being in Havana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised at just how good the food was. In fact, we ate here back-to-back two nights. Order a classic Cuban meal...stick to the basics. Roasted chicken or pork, black beans and rice, plantains. Eat outside if weather permits. Staff was pleasant and extremely efficient.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beautyhuggeranonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Carolina
Level Contributor
181 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Walk right on by.....don't stop”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Overpriced, ordinary food......and they are not at all willing to make any dietary adjustments with the menu....even simple ones. Watered down sangria and small dried out portions.......yuch..

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NCTravel0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, ny
Level Contributor
173 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Good stuff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

The food was great, the service was poor. We had a reservation at 2pm for 3 people. The place was empty yet they made us wait to be seated. Our server didn't come over to us for a long time and never brought us more drinks, asked if we wanted dessert etc.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieBCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Why bother booking?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

It's Saturday night, 8.30pm, we had booked Bongos, Downtown Disney. We arrived and was told to join the queue outside, when we get to the front we would be jumped forward. Expected wait, 1.5 hours. Why bother booking? Went to Another restaurant off Disney.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Norris270464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bongos Cuban Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bongos Cuban Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing