We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good!”

Boma - Flavors of Africa
Ranked #62 of 3,776 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, African, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Boma – Flavors of Africa – is a family-friendly buffet-style restaurant serving breakfast and dinner in Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge. Designed to resemble an African marketplace, the exotic restaurant serves dishes inspired by the varied flavors and seasonal dishes of over 50 African countries, from the coast of the Mediterranean to the Indian Ocean.Watch as Boma's chefs prepare dishes in an open kitchen with a wood-fire rotisserie grill. Morning offerings may include fresh fruit, African pastries, omelets, pancakes, french toast, bacon, sausage, carved ham, breakfast potatoes, cereal, oatmeal, scrambled eggs and corn beef bobotie—a type of quiche.The dinner buffet offers favorites prepared with African flair, which may include signature vegetarian selections, traditional dishes, fire-grilled meats, seafood, soups, salads, and desserts.
Olds, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Good!”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This buffet was very good! Some ethnic dishes as well as some classic favorites. My husband who is a picky eater found lots to eat! A little expensive as our 10 year old was considered an "adult". I would recommend this buffet to others.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,943
    861
    337
    107
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not What I Expected”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

After having been in Tanzania a month before, we were excited there was a restaurant where we could get some 'African' food. Normally, I do not like buffets but we thought we'd give Boma a try.

There were a couple of ethnic dishes but for the most part, it was generic buffet food to me. It was overpriced and some of the dishes (especially the soups) were way too salty. For the 2 of us, we paid about $80. Granted it was on a Disney Resort property so the food is going to be pricey but I felt like it was a complete waste of money. I would never eat here again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beccal72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Breakfast was Excellent”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We loved the breakfast variety. Dinner was good, but not our favorite. After having some of the food at the concierge level at the hotel it seemed that the same flavors were repeated. We could do breakfast repeatedly but not sure if we would do dinner more than once in a trip.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wenders1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent and different buffet experience.”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Boma has been one of our favourite Disneyworld restaurants for some years and we always make a reservation to eat dinner there whenever we visit the 'world'. There is usually a choice of two soups and several salads with African names. How authentic this is all I don't know but we have never been disappointed with the flavours presented and the variety of (often), unfamiliar food on offer. Three entrees are on offer, herb encrusted salmon and beef and/or pork and/or lamb seem to appear regularly. Always tasty. The vegetable accompaniments never fail to be different from what you might find elsewhere in the surrounding area and always interesting.

It is easy to overfill oneself simply because the variety of food on offer is enticingly different from the norm and you just can't resist trying everything available! On more than one occasion gluttony has got the best of us and we've had to drag ourselves outside and collapse on the poolside sun loungers to recover!

Be aware that Boma is very popular. Book well ahead and then get there early for your reservation. It is our experience that wait times can be longer here than at other WDW restaurants.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 52Asher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Boma- Dinner”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Very nice. Great choices with many dishes I have never had. The porridge and sweet corn grits (two separate dishes) were excellent. If you would like to try something very different, this place has some excellent dishes. Roast pork and beef had four different sauces. The hummus and pita section had fresh hummus with three flavors. Overall, I would try the spot again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jbruhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boma - Flavors of Africa also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Boma - Flavors of Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing