We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boma - Flavors of Africa

Boma - Flavors of Africa
Ranked #63 of 3,744 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, African, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Boma – Flavors of Africa – is a family-friendly buffet-style restaurant serving breakfast and dinner in Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge. Designed to resemble an African marketplace, the exotic restaurant serves dishes inspired by the varied flavors and seasonal dishes of over 50 African countries, from the coast of the Mediterranean to the Indian Ocean.Watch as Boma's chefs prepare dishes in an open kitchen with a wood-fire rotisserie grill. Morning offerings may include fresh fruit, African pastries, omelets, pancakes, french toast, bacon, sausage, carved ham, breakfast potatoes, cereal, oatmeal, scrambled eggs and corn beef bobotie—a type of quiche.The dinner buffet offers favorites prepared with African flair, which may include signature vegetarian selections, traditional dishes, fire-grilled meats, seafood, soups, salads, and desserts.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Great selection of food and plenty of it. From traditional favorites like prime rib to exotic yet tasty African delights, this restaurant is sure to please everyone in your party. Make reservations, but be sure to ask for a good table, with a window. We were stuck inside and very close to the buffet line, not what I expected at 8:30, but it was still worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank luvhawaii707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,893
    841
    327
    105
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Simply Wonderful Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We ate breakfast here at the Buffet twice as we were staying at Animal Kingdom Lodge.
Wow!
I don't usually rave about a breakfast buffet but there were things on this buffet I just loved.

The breads were hot and fresh, and the food was constantly being replenished. There were items from the African menu that I'd never had and were so flavorful. One was Chakalaka (I may be spelling that wrong), which is a spicy dish of stewed tomatoes. So good!

The omelet station did a great job, and the fresh fruit was amazing.

The fruit juice they serve (some mix of guava, mango, etc...) was so good. I could drink it every day.

We are planning to eat here for a dinner meal on our next visit!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MALDRIDGERN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
323 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Delicious ~”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Scrumptious and wonderful the flavorful, the items look the same however they taste different, exotic, and very good. This is a good place to go if you want a little adventure at mealtime.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank A_V_Wedding_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, lots to choose from”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Ate breakfast here and it was good. There were plenty of choices. I liked the make your own omelet. The pastries were incredible. Lots of fresh fruit.

Ethnic to a point but lots of variety for the picky eater!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MagicalWishesTFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
1 review
“Best Food Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is my absolute favorite restaurant anywhere. The food is great and different every time. I've dined here 4-5 times over the years. The atmosphere is fun and the servers are friendly and helpful. No trip to WDW is complete without a meal at Boma.
I've looked for good African food at home and haven't found anything that comes close to this.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Celia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boma - Flavors of Africa also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Boma - Flavors of Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing