We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Buffet”

Boma - Flavors of Africa
Ranked #56 of 3,827 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations
Description: Boma – Flavors of Africa – is a family-friendly buffet-style restaurant serving breakfast and dinner in Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge. Designed to resemble an African marketplace, the exotic restaurant serves dishes inspired by the varied flavors and seasonal dishes of over 50 African countries, from the coast of the Mediterranean to the Indian Ocean.Watch as Boma's chefs prepare dishes in an open kitchen with a wood-fire rotisserie grill. Morning offerings may include fresh fruit, African pastries, omelets, pancakes, french toast, bacon, sausage, carved ham, breakfast potatoes, cereal, oatmeal, scrambled eggs and corn beef bobotie—a type of quiche.The dinner buffet offers favorites prepared with African flair, which may include signature vegetarian selections, traditional dishes, fire-grilled meats, seafood, soups, salads, and desserts.
Hemet, California
Level 6 Contributor
453 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Excellent Buffet”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Unique flavors in the food. The beef roast was excellent - tender and medium rare just like I like it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,006
    872
    339
    109
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Disappointed, but okay.”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I expected a lot from Boma, but was ultimately disappointed. It is great for vegetarians or meat eaters. I thought it would introduce me to new African flavors, but it didn't. Unless you're very unadventurous, you've probably tasted similar things in the African food you've had before (like a Tunisian couscous salad with dried fruits), and lots of similarities to non-African foods (the barbecue sauce tastes like barbecue sauce as most of us know it). If you're scared to try African foods, this may be a good place to try it. But its pretty expensive. It was on my dining plan, but I would have been disappointed if I spent $70 plus tip for this for two people. Jiko and Sanaa are much better options for something interesting at Disney.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank commscholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A shining star in a muddled Disney dining scene”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Let's be honest here, Disney food usually isn't the pinnacle of one's dining experiences. Generally speaking, Disney restaurants sort of clump themselves together in the category of edible, but not exactly delicious and certainly overpriced.

There are a few exceptions to this rule, however. California Grill is one that quickly comes to mind and a recent trip to Boma proved that it also elevates itself above the Disney dining scene.

Went here for brunch one morning and was impressed by the food, hospitality, selection (choices from Africa as well as the classic American breakfast foods), and the Animal Kingdom lodge sets the nice ambiance as it is a beautiful setting and certainly worth a walk around after you are finished eating.

Brunch at Boma is a little on the expensive side, as most "upper-tier" Disney restaurants are, but we were hungry and ate a ton so we certainly got our money's worth.

If you are tired of eating bland park food and want to change things up a bit, Boma for brunch is an excellent choice.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kemp674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carefree, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of my Favorites”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stay at the Ak Lodge just to dine at Boma! It delivered again! The food is delicious and different! I enjoy the variety and dishes that you don't see usually see and we have our favorites we eat every time! The design is gorgeous although a little crowded and noisy. It is pricey but worth it for a change!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Breakfast Buffet and shuttle.”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

we came here to try the amazing delicious breakfast buffet, and ended up taking the shuttle from here to Animal Kingdom. We saw the Lion King show, and then returned to the resort for some rest and relaxation, even though we were staying elsewhere.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristine58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boma - Flavors of Africa also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Boma - Flavors of Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing