We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY IMPRESSED”

Boma - Flavors of Africa
Ranked #58 of 3,790 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations
Description: Boma – Flavors of Africa – is a family-friendly buffet-style restaurant serving breakfast and dinner in Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge. Designed to resemble an African marketplace, the exotic restaurant serves dishes inspired by the varied flavors and seasonal dishes of over 50 African countries, from the coast of the Mediterranean to the Indian Ocean.Watch as Boma's chefs prepare dishes in an open kitchen with a wood-fire rotisserie grill. Morning offerings may include fresh fruit, African pastries, omelets, pancakes, french toast, bacon, sausage, carved ham, breakfast potatoes, cereal, oatmeal, scrambled eggs and corn beef bobotie—a type of quiche.The dinner buffet offers favorites prepared with African flair, which may include signature vegetarian selections, traditional dishes, fire-grilled meats, seafood, soups, salads, and desserts.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“VERY IMPRESSED”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My son and husband and I ate here last week on our trip to disney on our second night and were not dissapointed. We ate at 6 very good restaurants for dinners on our trip and this was all 3 of our favorite. The food was DELICIOUS, so many choices. I can't imagine how anyone wouldn't like it unless they just like plain flavorless food. Everything tasted WONDERFUL. My favorite was a nut crusted salmon yummmmm. My son also has a seafood allergy and the chef came out and walked him around the buffet to tell him what to stay away from as well as telling him what was delicious and to try. We are not generally huge eaters but I made 2 trips up, my son made 3 and my hubby tried for 4 lol. Do NOT pass this one up. The atmosphere is also very nice and animal kingdom lodge was beautiful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whiterhino42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,972
    865
    338
    107
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
255 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“High quality buffet, excellent service.”
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

If you like to try different foods you should like this place. The Animal Kingdom Lodge is very beautiful. The service is superb. In addition to some food you won't find elsewhere, they have some regular stuff mixed in to keep the kids happy. Really good deserts.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“So good, we ate there twice!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Boma was our first dining experience when we arrived to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge. Its a Buffet style restaurants with common yet different fare. there was the usual meat station, salad station, soup station, desert station, etc... But the service was typical disney exceptional, the kids were entertained by african drums and there was plenty of food!. i encourage you to give it a try, you will be floored by the amount of food and delighted by the variety of flavors.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colts Neck, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome Buffet”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I love going to this buffet after a day in the Animal Kingdom. They did such a beautiful job with this hotel as well as this restaurant which is well themed and open. The food is hands down the best you'll find in any buffet in Disney. Try all of the soups, none of them will disappoint and desserts. Nice selection for kids as well like meatballs, mac and cheese and chicken fingers. The staff is always great and attentive. We go back every year for dinner. Breakfast is very good as well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not Too Bad”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Expect to pay around $80.00 for the breakfast buffet at Boma at the Animal Kingdom Lodge. Mostly your paying for the atmosphere and being on a Disney property because the food is just OK. Definitely try the "Jungle Juice" which is a mix of several tropical fruit juices, lemonade, and orange juice - it's very good. You'll find the usual mix of breakfast foods here at several stations. For us from left to right were:

Bagels, breads and a toaster.
Muffins, cinnamon rolls, pecan rolls (these are pretty good).
Cereals, oatmeal.
Assorted fruits (unfortunately not very good)
Bacon, sausage, potatoes.
Eggs
Pancakes, waffles
Carving station (odd for breakfast) with ham and roast beef.

If you're staying at the hotel I would say just go - but don't make a special trip.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boma - Flavors of Africa also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Boma - Flavors of Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing