We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and a fun time”

Whispering Canyon Cafe
Ranked #182 of 3,776 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Whispering Canyon Cafe in Disney's Wilderness Lodge smokes up pulled pork, ribs, chicken, baked beans, corn bread and more that will satisfy any cowboy or cowgirl in the family.In this rowdy, family-style restaurant right out of the Old West, start your morning with a bang-up breakfast of favorites such as buttermilk pancakes, omelets or an all-you-care-to-enjoy Canyon Skillet.Later in the day, bring your posse by for lunch when we're serving up burgers, salads and sandwiches, or stop in for dinner and be tempted by steak, fish or salads. And we can wrangle the heartiest appetites, 'cause we've got lunch and dinner Canyon Skillets, too. Be sure to save room for the Canyon Apple Pie!
Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food and a fun time”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband, daughter 14 and myself visited Disney in October and used the dining plan. It was offered for free in a hotel and ticket package. We had only had quick service meals before so we were excited to try the table service restaurants. The restaurant is located in the Wilderness Lodge. I wanted to try restaurants in the different resorts so we could experience them even though it is out of our budget to stay there. We arrived for our reservation at Whispering Canyon Cafe and were seated immediately. We ordered the family platter, which is all you can eat. We had chicken, ribs and fish. They bring out standard side dishes to supplement the meats. You also get a loaf of cornbread. You can choose a bottomless milkshake as your drink. We thought the food was very good. We enjoyed everything we tried. We had three different desserts and they were all very good. They will package them to go if you are to full at the end of your meal. The servers are silly and pick on the customers, in a fun way. We saw one server bring a customer a cupcake for her birthday, then the server picked it up and ate it! All in all it is a good meal with a lot of silliness going on. The kids seemed to love it. The Wilderness Lodge is beautiful and it's nice to experience it without paying the prices to stay there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mygeorgiapeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,995 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    874
    621
    313
    120
    67
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
195 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Good food...”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The food was good. The portions were more than sufficient.

My only concern is the staff. I know they are "acting" but some of their antics (acting slightly rude sometimes) made me a bit uncomfortable. Not my kind of thing.

Also, although the restaurant was mostly empty, they put us in a section apart from the main dining room, no atmosphere there, we felt like we were dining in the hotel lobby.

We ate there because we wanted to visit the resort but I regret my choice of restaurant because I was told there are better options in Wilderness Lodge.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank douceophelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Delicious once again!!”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

DH and I had first experience WCC when we were on the Backstage Magic Tour on our last visit and DH was in Heaven! So I made dinner ressies for this trip as well!

We took the ferry boat from magic Kingdom which was a very cool experience in itself! Checked in to WCC and were seated within a few minutes. We started with that delicious cornbread and BBQ sauce!! I mean who would ever thing to serve BBQ sauce with cornbread, but it was to die for!! Then we ordered the pick 3 and started with the pulled pork Bbq, sausage and steak. The steak was good but the BBQ was divine and DH loved the sausage!! They brought out the mashed potatoes and corn on the cob and something else that I can't remember family style as well. The corn was very good, the potatoes were ok, nothing great. We ended the meal with the berry cobbler that was delicious as well! Needless to say we were MISERABLY full when we left!

Per DH that was the best meal he has had in Disney! I'm sure we will be back again!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuntriqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
166 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great option for dinner”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Get the family style option - most of the meat choices are quite good (except for the beef, which we found dry), and the sides are good as well. It is a fun atmosphere and very lively. If you are expecting a quiet dinner, this isn't the place for you.
We went here twice because it was good food and right where we were staying.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank KosmoK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great place to fill up!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We have eaten hear many time now, and its a great place to fill up before or after the parks. The interaction with the servers adds to the experience of being in the old west! The breakfasts are great, especially the skillet with never ending bacon and sausage. Again the meals that we have had in the evenings have been fun packed and very filling, the kids loved the food and playing with other tables ( just don't ask for ketchup ;-) )

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ibisti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whispering Canyon Cafe also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Whispering Canyon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing