We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surprise”
Review of Kona Cafe

Kona Cafe
Ranked #219 of 3,791 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Asian, Polynesian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Kona Cafe infuses a bit of Asian zest into traditional American breakfast, lunch and dinner fare in Disney's Polynesian Resort. Indulge in the scrumptious cinnamon and banana-stuffed Tonga Toast or choose from a variety of more savory breakfast options like a variety of egg dishes and pineapple macadamia nut pancakes.At midday, satisfy your hunger with an Island chicken sandwich and housemade sweet potato chips, shrimp and scallops, or other tasty entrees. Dine in the evening on delicacies such as a selection of fresh fish, grilled ginger-crusted ribeye steak or coconut almond chicken.As you enjoy the relaxed atmosphere of this Polynesian restaurant, feast your eyes across the onstage open pastry kitchen that prepares divine desserts. Kona Cafe offers authentic Kona coffee as a perfect pairing to these pastries, or as a rich addition to any meal.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great surprise”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

From the lobby, this cafe did not impress, but we were pleasantly surprised when we ate there. I had lamb chops with roasted root vegetables, and this may have been the best lamb I have ever eaten. It was pink and juicy and seasoned perfectly. We had to wait a little longer than we were told, but the manager came over and apologized and gave us a free dessert and drink. It was our best meal at Disney when we were there in February for the Princess Half Marathon. Make reservations, even in the off season. We didn't and that's why we had to wait. The chocolate fondue dessert is delicious. The only negative I can say is that it was a little noisy, but that's to be expected at a Disney family resort. The lamb was about $25, which seemed reasonable for lamb chops. The portion was very good - 6 chops, and I could not finish the last one.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,124
    740
    337
    135
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hatboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Place for breakfast”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Looking for a great breakfast for that special day...Kona Cafe is the place. But before you leave the Polynesian, be sure to stop and pick up a bag of coffee to take home with you from the Hawaiian lady at the Coffee Shoppe located along the side of the Cafe.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mickeymek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Illinois
Level Contributor
145 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Terrific place to eat, nice break from the park”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have eaten here a few times now and it has become one of our favorites. Because it's so close to the Magic Kingdom by monorail, we often go over here when the restaurants in the park are packed. We can always get a reservation and the food is fantastic, particularly the duck! An addition, the Polynesian Resort is lovely. The only drawback to the restaurant is that because it is somewhat "open-air," it is a little loud. So if you're looking for intimate dining, this isn't the place. We will keep going back here!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crystal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of many pleasant dinners”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We have always enjoyed our meals in Disney, and dinner at Kona Café was no exception! We actually ate here several times over our stay, since we stayed at the Polynesian (a beautiful resort, by the way). Eating breakfast here was a great way to start the day. All of the food I have tried is incredibly delicious, and the chefs are very accommodating to my food allergies (wheat, dairy, soy, and nuts). I even loved their salads!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BernieL670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Noisy, Chaotic, Could be Cleaner”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Open air in Polynesian. Its very noisy and extremely busy. They did not clean up the mess from the previous family. My son was grossed out by something he sat back against. Ended up pulling something out of his hair. The manager came over apologized and did address the issue as well as comping our appetizes.
The food was good. The sushi was decent. The Teriyaki Strip Steak was fair. My Ahi Tuna was very good but not great. Portions were huge. My daughter had a stir fry that could have been shared easily with my wife.
Overall, I think there are better options for the price but they are off the Monorail system. We ate at Sanna and loved it and Bongos and raved over the food. Both were about the same price as Kona and were clean and relaxingly quiet.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drjonman2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kona Cafe also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Kona Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing