We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pasta dish on the bar menu”

Emeril's Tchoup Chop
Reserve with OpenTable
Emeril's Tchoup Chop is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #301 of 3,791 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $18 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Florida Center
Cross street: Universal Boulevard
Description: Emeril's Tchoup Chop (pronounced chop-chop) is the hottest table in Orlando, and Lagasse's second location at Universal Studios. The name offers a hint of New Orleans' famous Tchoupitoulas Street, home to Emeril's flagship restaurant, and the bold culinary term "chop". Located at Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando, Emeril's Tchoup Chop offers a dining experience unlike any other created by the famous master chef. In both atmosphere and menu, Emeril's Tchoup Chop offers diners a unique and exotic journey through the Pacific Seas with a delicious experience of Asian and Polynesian influences complemented by his signature bold flavors - a perfect complement for the Royal Pacific Resort. Although walk-ins can be accommodated, reservations are highly recommended. Our dress policy is casual with no tank tops for men. Bernard Carmouche, Culinary Director, and Lee Kaleel, General Manager, are dedicated to providing you with that memorable dining experience.
Gulfport, Florida
Level Contributor
241 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great pasta dish on the bar menu”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

The dish was just enough for a small bite. Very flavorable with a little spice. Nice. Drinks prices are very reasonable during happy hour as well.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank natnpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    253
    160
    91
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I really enjoyed my dinner experience at this Emeril's. The service was impeccable, the food was terrific - wait-staff recommendations on food and wine were spot-on

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jezcat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“They should have comped us for the poor service.”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My wife and I decided to stop in at Tchoup Chop because we were guests at the hotel that hosts this restaurant (Loews Royal Pacific). Getting a table was relatively easy. It was a Sunday night. Not too crowded and we didn't have reservations. They seemed a little surprised by that, like finding a table in the half-empty restaurant would be a difficult task for them. It took a couple minutes, but they got it figured out and we found our seats.

We selected a couple starters (shrimp tempura and the ribs) and got to work looking at the menu. Now, I know Emeril has a lot of restaurants or at least has his name on so many products, it's got to be impossible to do quality control or to ensure the kind of care that one would want associated with your name, but that's the price you pay for spreading yourself too thin. We were soon to find out that putting Emeril's at the beginning of your restaurant name guarantees nothing but your ability to charge more for average to below average dishes. Although the starters were decent, there were a couple odd things...too much cream cheese in the tempura roll. Actually, these are better without cream cheese, but I was hoping it wasn't a sign of things to come. It was.

We ordered the ahi tuna and grouper. Both of the dishes were okay, although the tuna sauce was described as a wasabi-bacon sauce, but it's essentially a wasabi only sauce. No hint of bacon or any other flavors at all. The grouper was okay, but again, no wow factor. No punch. And it certainly wasn't kicked up a notch.

We ordered the Banana Cream Pie for dessert. I've had better homemade pie on several occasions. It wasn't excellent as we were promised and I felt like I needed to go commiserate with Anthony Bourdain, an occasional critic of Emeril's and the celebrity chef culture that provokes so many of them to stamp their name on something and call it good.

The service was poor. After the bill arrived, we noticed the table next to us get a serving of shrimp chips with some sort of sauce. Up until that point we thought this was a popular appetizer, but we put it together that they are free and every table got them except ours. We brought this up to our server and he apologized and said, "Do you want them now?" Well, hell no, we don't want them now. We have our bill. We've had our dessert. We are full. Naturally, I expected more than an apology, maybe for them to comp my beer, but the bill came back unchanged. After apologizing, the server promptly took our card and charged it for the full amount. What the hell? Did that really happen. We left stunned.

We know we will never try another of Emeril's restaurants. There are far better places in many cities across America, where you will find more attentive servers and vastly superior food, served to you for less money and with greater care.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neff1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bow, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
89 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Our best experience of the trip!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We gave Tchoup Chop a try as our "nice meal" for our vacation at the Royal Pacific. What a great meal. Everything was delicious, and the staff was very good at accommodating our kids.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank NHTraveler03301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Appetizers for Dinner”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

My daughter and I stopped in after a full day at Universal Studios. We didn't have a reservation, but they kindly offered us a place at the bar where we could watch the food preparation.
I ordered the Kalua Chicken Egg Rolls with orange chili dipping sauce, the Steamed Pork & Asian Vegetable Dumplings with sake soy dipping sauce, and my daughter had the California Roll Sushi and Caramelized Salmon. Everything was excellent, and it was fun talking with the chefs as they worked.

This is a wonderful place for couples and adults.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jillo44535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emeril's Tchoup Chop also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Emeril's Tchoup Chop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing