We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort Limited Menu”
Review of Artist Point

Artist Point
Ranked #121 of 3,808 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Orange County, Ca
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice Resort Limited Menu”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The ambiance and food were very good. The menu has limited choices so I guess it changes daily. I had the salmon and it was excellent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    619
    261
    128
    57
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Estero, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Don't. Just Don't”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

One of the more disappointing dining experiences I've had recently. I'm a Disney Vacation Club points owner with the points in Wilderness Lodge, and so we have stayed there and dined at Artist Point frequently. Sadly, the place has slipped badly, though they still seem to think highly of themselves and their "exclusively Northwest" menu. Hard to find anything - service, management, food quality - to compliment. Started off with a 45 - FORTY FIVE! - minute wait for a 7:30 previously made reservation for a party of 12. Twelve people cooling their heels, including the 8 year old whose birthday we were celebrating. At 20 minutes in, someone explained that "our" table was still occupied by another party, who had finished dining but was "just sitting there talking" - as if to infer that they could not or would not hurry them OR assemble another large table. After 45 minutes they said they had "pushed some other tables together" and we could be seated. Trouble is there were no other visible large gatherings "just sitting and talking" to be seen. A perfunctory apology, with nothing offered to compensate -neither a comp dessert nor appetizer. Service was mediocre; my Salmon was delivered not cooked as ordered (medium-well") but rather largely uncooked. In their style, all wines offered are Pacific Northwest - ALL. No option to choose a Napa upgrade. It will be quite sometime before I try this place again (he said with disappointment).

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RoyVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“AP needs to find salt and pepper!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The dining room is very open and majestic, Service was friendly and attentive. The Trio of meats dish (buffalo, venison and game sausage) was cooked properly but the buffalo and venison needed salt and pepper badly, taste was bland except for the outer crust. The game sausage was excellent with a good spicy bite to it. Overall a good experience and worth one visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank baddbare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not great for our family”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This was a slow serving elegant restaurant with good food. It was also in a lodge that was pretty cool, so it was nice to wait there with our drinks until our table was ready. I am not a big meat eater so I had the salmon, which was pretty good. There was nothing truly exciting about the restaurant but we wanted to take the boat over from Magic Kingdom for the kid's sake and to see the lit up something or other on the water (I don't remember what it was because we never actually got to see it). The wait was really long even though we had a reservation, so we were all exhausted and starving by the time we got seated, and then the service was really slow. Overall, not great for kids, or us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Happygolucky195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Favorite restaurant at WDW”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Dinner at Artist Point is an experience. Great food, outstanding wine from the northwest, and excellent service. It's definitely worth two table service meals if you are on the Disney Dining Plan. We rode the boat over from the Contemporary and enjoyed the beautiful lobby at the Wilderness Lodge. While a very nice restaurant, they still catered to our 9-year-old. It's elegant but not stuffy, and every dish we ordered was excellent. Definitely go!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank eethomaswfnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artist Point also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Artist Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing