We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Chinese in Orlando - Sichuan is a bonus” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chuan Lu Garden

Chuan Lu Garden
Ranked #1,154 of 3,749 Restaurants in Orlando
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Orlando - Sichuan is a bonus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Spicy numbing Sichuan pepper corns are aplenty here at Chuan Lu Garden. Very authentic Chinese dishes, and even their pork fried rice is good.

Here is what I would recommend from steamed pork buns, cumin lamb, to Sichuan style fried chicken (ChongQing La Zi Chicken), sliced spicy roast beef and tendon, salt and pepper shrimp, fei ting yu xiang (sichuan style fish filet dish).

Ricky Ly
Author, Food Lovers' Guide to Orlando
Founder, TastyChomps.com

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tastychomps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    17
    0
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orland, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good dumplings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

The chinese food here is very good. The dumplings are delicious and a must if you visit. The service was very good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank marcus f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
104 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Found It!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I have searched high and low, from San Diego to Oakland to Boston to Orlando the shrimp dish that tastes closest to my favorite when I lived in Southeast Asia - Camaron Rebosado. In all 32 years of living in the USA, I finally found it and more in Chuan Lu Gardens.

Chuan Lu serves delicious, authentic Chinese food. It is located in a small room inside the Ginza Japanese Restaurant. I wouldn't have known about this if not for a good friend of ours who has been inviting us to visit this hidden jewel. We ordered the Shrimp with Walnut, Salt and Peppery Shrimp, House Special Pan Fried Noodles, Szechuan Spare Ribs, and as a last minute suggestion from our friend, the Fish with Sweet and Sour Sauce.

That last minute addition to our order was the dish I had been looking for, for so long. Although it was fish, the seasoning, the taste, and the consistency of the batter that enveloped the fish were exactly what I had been searching for all these years. We asked the owner (?) or manager, and he stated that it could be done with shrimp instead of fish, just let the waitperson know. The taste of the other dishes were not to be outdone. Every morsel of each of our order tasted heavenly. It seems each dish was prepared with such care.

We will definitely come back and have sent out the word to other friends and family of our new find - the hidden jewel of a Chinese Restaurant,

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank L0la3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North York, Ontario
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great authentic Chinese food. Good service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Very very nice food.
We had 3 kinds of dumplings, and 2 kinds of noodles. Very authentic. Noodles have good texture. Soups are tasty. Dumplings are extremely good.
Will definitely recommend to anyone who wants to have authentic Chinese food in Orlando (I'm Chinese btw).
Service is also very good. We accidentally spilled a water glass. Our server immediately brought over lots of napkin paper, even before we started looking for him. Once everything was cleaned, he then swiftly brought another glass of water. All was done smoothly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 28WCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chuan Lu Garden also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Chuan Lu Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing