We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Awesome experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #61 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orlando
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2014

Not one problem to report. Room was clean, hallways and lobby clean as well. Easy parking. Pool was relaxing. Did not like that you needed to purchase a tube for lazy river. Decoration themed perfectly! Will recommend. $10 per day pay fee was disappointing. True overall experience, awesome! I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Universal's C, Manager at Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thank you for a great review! It thrills us to know that you had a great time throughout your stay. Our goal is for every guest to have a fun, memorable stay and we are so happy to know that we were able to deliver that for you and your family!

We hope you get to stay with us on your next visit to Orlando.

Have a swell day!

Universal’s Cabana Bay Beach Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,043
    2,924
    1,001
    396
    277
See reviews for
7,121
1,777
133
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,654)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vinhedo, Brasil
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2014

I would highly recommend Cabana Bay Beach Resort. I had a great time there. Staff was awesome helped you with any questions you have. Swimming Pools where great all the time, Bowling was also fun which gave another option while the afternoon thunderstorms came through. Free entrance to the universal one hour before the others, its a great experience. Good restaurant and very nice food when you return the parks very tired in the night. We loved a lot the hotel stiles. The parking area in the hotel was very useful.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AiltonVinhedo_Brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Universal's C, Manager at Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review! We’re so happy to hear you had a great time at our resort and that you were able to enjoy so many of our amenities, such as our Pools, and Galaxy Bowl.

We are looking forward to your next visit and are excited at the opportunity to be able to provide more wonderful memories for you and your family.

Have a swell day!

Universal’s Cabana Bay Beach Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2014

I booked 3 nights August 29-September 1 for a family getaway poolside without the intention of visiting the theme parks. We reserved a regular room with two beds.

Details below (I know it is long; so, bear with me)
PROS:
• The room was great – We had a basic room
• The resort theme is amazing.
• A lot to offer (and a lot to work on). There is a bowling alley (didn’t use), an exercise facility (didn’t use), an arcade (didn’t use).

CONS:
• No service
o When areas of concern were mentioned to staff, little care was shown
o Trying to get 2 cabanas near each other, mind blowing task
o The poolside cabanas don’t have drinks service and only pizzas are delivered. Also, in both cabanas, the oscillating fan didn’t oscillate
• Smoking was everywhere – more than any other resort in recent memory.
• Broken gate access to the buildings (specifically building 5)/into the resort – when not broken a room key is needed to open
o Once inside the resort area, room keys are not required to access interior corridors to rooms
• Parking lot arms left up for all to access
o With easy access to the parking lot (when we arrived a room key was needed to access), and a broken gate (that was often propped open with a large stone), access to the resort and easy access to interior corridors was a concern.
• Poor signage around the property and when leaving the property (to Interstate 4)

Room: Comfy beds and a smart layout: room size was adequate for 2 adults, 1 tween, and 1 youth. The room had 1 outlet in the bathroom. The bathroom had decent counter space and 2 drawers. Shampoo, conditioner, soap, and a hair dryer were the only amenities provided in the bathroom. The bedroom had 2 outlets over the nightstand between the beds, 2 outlets by the table with 2 USB ports, another 2 outlets behind the television, and one more outlet in the foyer. Many times outlets are difficult to find; but, they have considered today’s high technology lifestyle. The room also had a coffee maker (didn’t use this amenity to comment on it). The room also had a small mini-refrigerator, a nice surprise. Though housekeeping didn’t replenish the shampoo and crème rinse during our stay.

Pools: Great, the waterslide is fun, and the lazy river is well done. There are plenty of life guards at the pools and lazy river. (Side note: inner tubes to float on in the lazy river are sold there at a premium. You can bring in your own to be inflated for free; but, expect to wait in a line. Inner tubes are not needed to enjoy the lazy river). Two pools – one with the lazy river and a poolside bar and grill, and one with cabanas, the slide, and a live DJ (Side note: swim diapers are complimentary at the poolside bar). The pools are a distance apart and require a walk through the lobby or up ramps and through the 2nd floor. Either way, lots of wet dripping people going back and forth with inner tubes and pool bags. I am not sure why the pool with the cabanas does not have a poolside grill or offer delivery service from the diner to the cabanas. We also kept inhaling cigarette smoke while trying to relax in Cabana 2—when this was told to staff he said “smoking is over there” and pointed….. (there were people poolside smoking too—nothing said as staff passed by)

Amenities: The food court, Bayliner Diner (not a diner but a food court cafeteria), does offer burger, sandwiches, pizza, and drinks. The food wasn’t bad and for a resort, the food wasn’t overpriced. The Fire pits were a nice touch. We brought items to make s’mores; but, left because of the all the cigarette smoke.

Why I won’t return:
• Smoking – I have never seen such a smoke-friendly resort since the early 80s. While I know the theme is the 60s, this is 2014. The map shows designated smoking areas; but, more have popped up and staff doesn’t inform smokers to stay in the designated areas. To access the pool with the lazy river, one had to walk through smoke from building 5 and through the main entrance from the lobby. At the fire pit, smoking has taken over. Even when a staff member was asked if that was a smoking area, he said no; but, did nothing to inform the smokers. Smokers were walking around, crowding every entrance, it just wasn’t my scene nor one I want for my children.
• Service – When asked to have my cabana placed next to a friend’s cabana, the front desk took the last names and said it would be done, next morning when checking into our cabana, we were on the opposite side of the pool. I was told they were 1st come, 1st served; however that did not appear to be the case and I was told they couldn’t move cabanas. Did I mention the 5 minute wait at the front desk queue without a single staff member in sight? All of us in line were not amused.
• Service/Staff –When informed of broken equipment, the staff could have at least pretended to care. I went to the front desk to check out and felt chastised because I didn’t use the tv – I tried; but, it gave me a failure notice and I wanted a detailed bill – which they still insisted would be emailed….days later and it hasn’t arrived…

The resort didn’t have bad service, it didn’t have ANY service. Perhaps I am used to a different type of resort. A resort lacking service that appears to be smoke-friendly appeals to some I am sure; but, not to me and my family. Wishing all happy vacation planning.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank GoTigahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2014 via mobile

The upsides are that the theming is very cool and public areas are excellent for a value hotel. We checked in at 11:30 and a room was available immediately. Within the last year, we've stayed at the Royal Pacific and Portofino Bay. This was quite a step down from those, especially in the cleanliness area. This was my biggest complaint. I found hair within the bed sheets, stuck to the shower walls, and inside the sink. Who knows what was on the dark carpets. The bathroom smelled of mildew that came from the dirty shower curtain. Considering this is a brand new hotel, there were already carpet threads pulled up and one of the lights didn't work. Overall I'd recommend staying somewhere else close by Universal until housekeeping is up to par.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Baf1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Universal's C, Manager at Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay and for your valuable feedback. We sincerely apologize if the resort did not meet your expectations and for any inconveniences you experienced.

We appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Sincerely,

Universal’s Cabana Bay Beach Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2014

This hotel opened recently in the area of Universal studios. My daughter and I decided to stay there during the Labor weekend. It is amazing. The check in process is very fast and the attendants are very friendly. The theme of the hotel is the 60s and 70s and is pretty neat. The rooms are brand new with very comfortable beds and include a mini fridge. The best thing of the hotel is the bowling alley but the waiting time is between 1-2 hours for a lane. You can wait having some snacks and drinks in the area. They have 3 different food stations in the food court or you can use the restaurant for dinner. The pool is not that big, considering all the rooms in the 3 different buildings of the hotel. It's also hard to find a beach chair but the lazy river is very nice for the kids. They have buses that take you to the parks and also have an extra hour at the Harry Potter area before the park opens. In general, it is a very nice hotel with thing to enjoy other than the Universal theme parks.

Room Tip: Far from the lobby and the food court
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YM-MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Universal's C, Manager at Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure when we can make such an impression on our guests! It seems like you had a wonderful time, and we hope there are many fun stays to come!

Have a swell day,

Universal’s Cabana Bay Beach Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2014

My family and I really enjoyed our stay at Cabana Bay. We have visited Orlando many times and have stayed at Disney and the Royal Pacific. Cabana Bay has been by far our favorite hotel. We were treated like we stayed at a deluxe hotel and were really pleased with the amenities and the staff. The staff at Cabana Bay and the Universal parks made our family vacation a wonderful experience! We couldn't be happier.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Universal's C, Manager at Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thank you for a great review! It thrills us to know that you enjoyed so many aspects of our resort. It’s also wonderful to know that we have become your new favorite hotel.

Thank you for your kind compliments on our Team Members and the resort in general. Can’t wait to have you visit Cabana Bay again!

Have a swell day,

Universal’s Cabana Bay Beach Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2014

Given the recent opening of this property, my husband and I had minimal expectations. Our experience, however, was amazing! The property is very retro, which makes it that much more fun! The theme is the 50's, and there are artifacts that make it very appealing. Phones with dials, old time movies played in the dining room, plastic chairs in the rooms. The staff is friendly, helpful, and knowledgable of the resort and surrounding areas. The beach pool and lazy river were fantastic! I look forward to returning to Cabana Bay very soon. Nice job Universal, with a great price!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank sloncaric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Universal's C, Manager at Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thank you for a great review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of our resort and that we were able to provide a fun, happy and memorable experience for you and your family.

We can’t wait to have you back at Cabana Bay!

Have a swell day,

Universal’s Cabana Bay Beach Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
The Point Orlando Resort
#21 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,251 reviews
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Floridays Resort Orlando
#16 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,342 reviews
Florida Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Orlando-Nearest to Univ Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort

Property: Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Address: 6550 Adventure Way, Orlando, FL 32819-7610
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 1800
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy this vibrant, retro-style hotel with family suites, standard rooms and stellar recreation from a cool lazy river and pools to bowling and more. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort is in the heart of the excitement at Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing