We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep going back.”
Review of Nona Sushi

Nona Sushi
Ranked #998 of 3,790 Restaurants in Orlando
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
206 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“We keep going back.”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Ronny and his staff are the best. The sushi is always excellent. The sushi chefs are meticulous and presentation is gorgeous, fresh, and flavorful. The tempura has never been too greasy. I love sashimi, and garlic edamame. I have had the salmon and appreciated that it wasn't fishy. For meat-eaters, the rib eye is hard to beat. Buttery and done to order, it is a favorite for steak lovers. When they offer the surf & turf, be sure to try it because the petite filet and steamed lobster tail are a matched set. The chicken is not a standout, though.

The sake offerings are excellent, although few. They also stock Kirin, Sapporo, and Asahi. It is so comfortable and everyone is welcoming, that it is not surprising to see a single dad or mom sitting at the sushi bar with a young son or daughter at lunch or dinner. If you are in a hurry, be sure to reserve a table on Friday & Saturday because you may have a wait. Take out is popular too. Whether dining solo or with a group, you'll never be uncomfortable.

As much time as we spend here with as many people as we've entertained here, it's certain that we thoroughly enjoy it. Still, we would like to see a couple of additions to the menu like tonkatsu or chicken katsu and scallops. Been in the Lake Nona area for almost four months, and will likely be here for another one. Glad we found Nona Sushi the first month we arrived.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HulaSueR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    9
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level Contributor
215 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood and sushi, Orlando's Best”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Having been there before I know that they get fresh seafood in and cook it all different ways. Whilw the name makes you think they only do sushi, in fact the hot meals are great. Yes, the sushi was excellent too, such as the feesh gold uni (sea urchin), real crab California roll and a new spicy delight called a Colby roll. Best though was the whole fish made "boat" style. Call ahead and have them get you a whole flounder or snapper. I highly recommend this spot.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Let's do Sushi”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

First things first, cheap sushi is like a cheap tattoo. You get what you pay for. One of the first things to be said about Nona Sushi is that the whole menu is very good. If you want some yakasoba noodles,believe me they have great noodles. Or maybe a nice sizzling Bulgogi. I like mine with a little soy sauce and wasabi. But hey, I gotta get my sushi on and this is the place for it. They have an impressive selection and its always fresh. I always start with the Red Dragon and go from there. If you're in the Lk. Nona area, try Nona Sushi. I give it two chopsticks up.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicpave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food and service!!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Was pleasantly surprised. The food the service and the atmosphere was great. Will definetly be going back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meki76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
183 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem for lovers of Japanese Food”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Tried this place when I had dinner with friends who lived in the neighborhood. Excellently prepared food and sushi. Very unassuming outside facade with great menu items for the Japanese food lover. One of us in the dinner "party" lived in Japan and attested that it's one of the very few places in the US where the food was cooked so carefully and close to the ones prepared in Japan. Very friendly service and casual ambiance. A bit on the expensive side though (perhaps for good reason).

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nona Sushi also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Nona Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing