We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis in the chain food capital of Orlando”

LA. Boiling Seafood Crab & Crawfish
Ranked #1,082 of 3,763 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Corona del Mar, CA
Level Contributor
422 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 644 helpful votes
“An oasis in the chain food capital of Orlando”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I cringe every time someone extolls the virtues of Red Lobster when a question is asked about "Orlando's best seafood" and deserving restaurants like this that are legitimately great seafood restaurants are virtually unknown because you can't shake people out of what they know.

The restaurants proper name is Louisiana Boiling Crab and Seafood and it is as good as down home, Southern restaurants get. They have crawfish, three or four kinds of crab (depending on the season), lobster and Southern style fried blue crab and shrimp.

They also do po-boys with a variety of fish and then have corn meal batter fried catfish, talapia, grouper and others. Sides include Jambalaya, Gumbo and hot Andouille sausage among others.

Get away from the chains and find out what real great seafood can taste like.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank scottca075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    13
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I need a bib!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

The food was good, specially the po-boy! I ordered one of their combo platter and really liked it. Shared it with the rest of the fam. I wished they had free refills on their pop/soda. Overall, I would recommend it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank knhellesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currently Oregon
Level Contributor
236 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place if crustaceans are your passion!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Right smack downtown on a block of Vietnamese restaurants. We were downtown to imbibe at Orlando brewing and looking for seafood as always. Since Orlando brewing doesn't serve food, this nearby restaurant became our 2nd stop. Here's what the 2 of us feasted on: 3lbs fresh boiled crawfish, 6 fresh blue crabs, and 9 or so super large head on shrimp, washed with iced tea. Did I mention garlic and butter and garlic, and the red potatoes and corn in the crawfish? When we walked in there were several Vietnamese families dining and quite a few more came for takeout... good sign. And then came the food... Ohhhhhh. Messy... Yummy... Fantastic. I regret that we had only one night to eat there as the menu was tantalizing. The bill: $66. This is Orlando. Our drinks and appetizers were $66 at Bahamas Breeze over in the tourist district. If you can find your way downtown, do not miss this and give the brewery a shot as well. Good beer choices in a funky little industrial location. What a great evening!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank backpackluxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalisco, Mexico
Level Contributor
278 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“A Great Seafood Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a very unpretentious restaurant a few blocks east of I-4 on Colonial Drive in the middle of a Vietnamese community. If not for groupon, we never would have known about this place and are really glad we discovered it.

Like others, our groupon was for the seafood platter. It came out in a large aluminum foil pan with 2 large snow crab clusters along with 2 claws, 16 extra large shrimp with the heads on, a blue crab, 2 ears of corn, and 2 red potatoes. The bottom of the pan was filled with butter and garlic. Everything was cooked perfectly and delicious. Other patrons were eating po-boys and fried seafood baskets and seemed to be really enjoying their meals as well.

Having recently spent some time in Vietnam, we loved the atmosphere since the staff was Vietnamese along with most of the customers and music videos from Saigon playing on the tv's. Service was very good and attentive and our whole experience was pleasurable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank solara13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We went here because we had a groupon for seafood platter. Food was fresh, the shrimp was great but we ad to take the heads off which wasn't too bad. Next time will try poboys or Vietnamese soup which smelled delicious . Very clean and friendly staff.

Helpful?
1 Thank bahand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LA. Boiling Seafood Crab & Crawfish also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to LA. Boiling Seafood Crab & Crawfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing