We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than expected!”
Review of CSI: The Experience - CLOSED

CSI: The Experience
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: CSI: The Experience immerses guests in hands-on science while leading them through the challenge of solving a murder. The hands-on exhibit brings to life fundamental scientific principles, numerous scientific disciplines, and advanced technology and techniques used today by crime scene investigators and forensic scientists. Through hands-on activities featuring real equipment and multimedia presentations, guests will sample a variety of scientific fields and understand the significance of each in cracking crimes.
Lafayette, Indiana, United States
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Less than expected!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My husband and I were very disappointed with this. It was decidedly not worth the cost. From the online site's photos you can actually interact with the "crime scene" and the sad truth is you cannot.
You stand behind a rope and observe without touching. The lab simulations are really just sit or stand at this screen and choose your answer.
This place was a HUGE let down for a couple who LOVES CSI!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    63
    54
    28
    26
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Very user friendly for the little ones! Great experience, thoroughly enjoyable. Merchandising very reasonably priced, great selection too

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharonf2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Boring :/”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Mindless button pushing to solve an "exhibit", which was essentially an interactive museum at a price of $20 each (4 of us equalled to $80). We were in and out in 10 minutes. Do not go! May as well given the $80 to a homeless man we saw down the street; he would have spent it better!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 0NLY1Review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
“No Go!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I agree with some other reviews, the staff was unfriendly beside one small framed female who was inside of CSI with the customers and helped us when we needed help finding "labs". From inside the exhibit you can hear the complaining of the employees on the other side which I might add was very annoying. We are a military family of 5 and paid 20$ a person for an exhibit that was not worth it. I believe anyone 9 and up could solve "the case" easily. Its really meant for smaller children although the crime scenes themselves were very interesting to look at but you were not allowed to go past the bars. Theres no room for deduction as all the answers are already there unless you make a game of it yourself. No pictures are allowed anywhere just to ensure that you buy the photo they take of you in the beginning. It was a waste of time and money so I wouldnt suggest this for anyone, I think Whirly Dome is a better place. Not to mention I noticed that when a guest came close to the time they "stop accepting admissions" which is an hour before they "close" the staff at the front gets more unfriendly and seem very uninviting. If this attraction was done right it could have done way better. This company won't last very long.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janiera V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Unfriendly staff”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Once you get past the unfriendly staff the actual experience is OK - there are three different murder situations and you are allocated one unless you have paid for more - it's not worth paying for more though as they're all basically the same and they're all in the same place so you can see the other two options anyway!
First you get your CSI jacket and have a photo taken - these are for sale on your way out - there's no photography allowed anywhere in the building which seems unnecessary but of course it ensures you buy the one they've taken! Then you go through to the experience with your question sheet and fill it in as you go along with all the clues - it's a bit of fun and a good way to spend an hour while you're waiting for the rain to stop! On your way out you submit your details for your CSI Diploma - you can pay for it at the checkout or get it emailed to you for free.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank asdas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CSI: The Experience also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing