We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive, but we liked the food”
Review of Monsieur Paul

Monsieur Paul
Ranked #160 of 3,776 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
201 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Expensive, but we liked the food”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The meal began with an amuse bouche of escargot in brioche. My husband ate it, although he had always avoided escargot. I had an escargot appetizer, which was excellent. My entrée, the fish with potato scales was great (see photo). My husband liked his scallops but was not as thrilled with his salmon appetizer. For dessert we had grand marnier soufflé (one of my favorites). We sat by the window, where we could see some of the fireworks show. This restaurant replaced another French restaurant. For a special occasion, this is our favorite restaurant at Epcot. (Ee like Citricos at Grand Floridian better, but we like this restaurant in Epcot. we have eaten at most Epcot restaurants and casual food.)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ebfk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    89
    47
    24
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
535 reviews
366 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Expensive”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Limited menu! I have beef which was good. Fish was ok but small. We had raspberry sorbet with meringue which was terrific. MAKE RESERVATIONS!!!!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank betagirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paul Bocuse's son cashes in”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Two words: butter knife.

When I eat at a restaurant that trades on the name of Paul Bocuse, I expect the place setting to include a butter knife. Why? Because when they clear the table knife after the first course, you are left without anything to spread butter on the bread which is being dropped on your plate as servers carelessly reach across your table.

Let's continue from the beginning. After a fifteen minute wait for our scheduled reservation in a hallway with two chairs and no bar, we were coldly taken upstairs to a dining room where we immediately felt over dressed. But there's a dress code, you say? Not as far as we could tell. And don't think that playing by the rules will get you anything. The guy who showed up after us wearing shorts and a Hawaiian shirt unbuttoned to his stomach got the table by the window. Maybe he slipped the hostess a Lincoln.

It's not all bad. The food is actually pretty good. The presentations are interesting in their use and placement of components on the plate. The sauces were very good. While the preparation of each protein was a bit mundane, each dish had a sauce that was both complementary and powerfully flavored. Our only disappointment was with the use of truffle; believing that if it's included, you should be able to smell it. We could not.

Wine is a sore subject. I never order bottles. Instead, I prefer to have the sommelier choose glasses to go with each course. At many Disney restaurants the menu suggests a wine to go with each dish, which I find acceptable if less refined than offering a personal touch. Monsieur Paul goes with door number three: "would you like white or red?" There is no question I hate more. I haven't tasted the food. I haven't tasted the wine. What difference does it matter if it is white or red?

As soon as our waiter said he "would think about" what wine to pick for us, we should have left. With no sommelier on staff, this guy is going to guess at what we would like? My point is that Disney "Signature Dining" should do a bit of research before customers show up.

On the plus side, our desserts were very good. Then the waiter confessed that the same dessert can be purchased at the patisserie in the French pavilion. Sigh.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1ForTheTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Lived up to disney's ongoing reputation for its food awfull. Ordered their top steak
Too salty to eat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JenxXxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rare Oops for a Disney restaurant”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This turned in to a 3 hour event with luke warm food and many many apologies from our server.
They were generous with cold bread but you had to ask for water refills. Table was not cleaned between courses and a floor manager was never seen. We have eaten at many places in Disney and Epcot over the years and have never had a bad experience until now. The only things exceptional about Monsieur Paul is the price and poor customer service. Our server said that it was this way every night and they were hoping for a change in the kitchen soon. Also, no music or entertainment of any kind,

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monsieur Paul also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Monsieur Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing