We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, cheap Mexican food in a hole in the wall restaurant”

Border Grill Fresh-Mex
Ranked #130 of 3,776 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brownsburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
141 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great, cheap Mexican food in a hole in the wall restaurant”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

OK, first off, this place looks sketchy outside. It's in a strip mall, and when you walk in, there are only a few tables. But the staff was extremely nice, and they let seven kids have the run of the place during dinner. The food was all very cheap, and while there aren't a ton of options, the burritos and tacos that we all got were very good and far more authentic than what you get at 90% of the Mexican restaurants around. Overall, if you're looking for cheap food and don't mind the atmosphere, this is a good option. If you're looking for candles (or table clothes...or tables), this might not be the place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    40
    13
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royersford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Hidden Treasure in Orlando”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

A friend and I stayed at the Hampton Inn just around the corner from this restaurant. we didn't want a touristy spot and we really wanted good food. The front desk suggested this place and we walked down, not quite sure what we would find. What a fabulous little place. It's a bit confusing as it has a Thai restaurant sign above one door, but that's due to expansion. Good thing too as when everyone finds out about how good the food is here, it won't be hidden for long. We had the tacos with pork and they were delicious. Being from Texas I didn't have a lot of hope but they proved me wrong. The best thing though, besides the wonderful waitress, the owners daughter I believe, was the homemade guacamole...delicious doesn't do it justice. Everything was VERY reasonably priced, the selection was good and again, the food was wonderful. A bit off the beaten trail but well worth the adventure to get there...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trish41fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome service and delicious food”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I'm so glad we went to this restaurant while visiting Orlando because the food is so delicious and so reasonably priced. But the service really set Border Grill apart. Right when we walked through the door, the waitress was extremely attentive and friendly, explained what all our options were, and even immediately offered us samples of the different agua frescas they had (which were all delicious).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Titanomachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best-Mex in Orlando!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This place is great! A great late night option for really good Mexican food. Very small restaurant probably hold a max of 10 people but the food is great. The california burrito is my favorite, I dont think its on the menu but ask for it, (IT HAS FRENCH FRIES IN THE BURRITO) They also have a great variety of tacos. Close to Universal and MetroWest.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cityneversleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Amazing food and service, I would highly recommend this place to anyone!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Don't be fooled by its looks! Give it a chance and you won't be sorry! It's a great restaurant with great service I would highly recommend it if you're craving some great Mexican food!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Border Grill Fresh-Mex also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Border Grill Fresh-Mex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing