We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Roy's

Roy's
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #174 of 3,763 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Sushi, Polynesian, Hawaiian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Dr Phillips Blvd.
Description: Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

I took my wife and two young daughters here last night and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The food was fresh, quick to come out, and the service from the staff was the best I've ever had in a restaurant. They treated my young daughters so well, and with respect, and I made sure the tip I left let them know that I appreciated that. Seriously, we had one waiter, but at least 4 different people served our table to make sure we had everything and anything we needed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wade29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    674
    215
    84
    33
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
313 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Very Good if You only Eat at Chain Restaurants”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

It is a chain and not a foodie's paradise. If you only eat at Chain Restaurants you will absolutely love it! The service we received was excellent and the atmosphere is wonderful for Romance and that special "Prom" date night.

There is a drink called the Original Hawaiian Martini with a longterm liquor soaked pineapple garnish they say is the equivalent of a shot that is really good. Their chocolate lava cake was good but I have had better like I said at places that are not chain restaurants. Our big disappointment came from our 3 fish combo entree's that were overly dry….maybe it was a chef issue??? However, we expected more of the food quality and portion size of the fish that was served. After the appetizer and entree I was still hungry so I had room for the cake! This was our first time to dine at one of these so I am going to assume it was more of a "new chef" issue for the most part but I do not recommend this one to my foodie friends.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms.LoveTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, Florida
Level Contributor
157 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Aloha to Roy's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

I try to eat here every time we vacation in the Orlando area. The food is awesome. I had the Butter fish. Always a great dish. Flavorful and a great presentation. My daughter always gets the pineapple upside down cake. It is worth the wait. The servers ask dessert at time of the entrée going down because the Chocolate lava cake and pineapple upside down cake take 20 minutes to prepare.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vincent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
105 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Amazing chocolate soufflé -- and spicy calamari”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Amazing dining experience with outstanding and extraordinarily pleasant service. The calamari is uniquely prepared. Spicy and sweet. Not to be missed. The scallops were cooked perfectly. The chocolate soufflé is well worth the wait and not to be missed. Save room for dessert! Numerous and pleasant efficient wait staff. Smiling, pleasant and seemed to genuinely enjoy their jobs. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RubySlippers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenwick michigan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Nice place, I loved the Maui waui salad! I was'nt crazy about my fish!I think I was comparing it to the fish I had in Hawaii last month. The staff and service was top notch. We had their pineapple upside down cake-yummy!

Helpful?
Thank Tammyammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Roy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing