We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roy's is a good bet for seafood at any of their locations.”
Review of Roy's

Roy's
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #234 of 3,808 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Dr Phillips Blvd.
Description: Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.
Barrie, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
310 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Roy's is a good bet for seafood at any of their locations.”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Orlando is not exactly my preferred culinary destination, as I am not a fan of chain restaurants in general and they are everywhere in Orlando. Even though they have several locations I would not exactly characterize Roy's as what I consider to be a chain. Their calamari appetizer is killer as is their butter fish. I always have a hard time moving away from these instant favorites. The pineapple cake was so good we ordered a second one in spite of the time it takes to prepare. Great service as expected, only disappointment was the noise level, attributed to major trade shows invading the city, and a full restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    681
    220
    87
    35
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Always a great meal at Roy's in Orlando”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We visit Orlando 2-3 times a year to visit family and play golf, and we rarely miss the chance to eat at Roy's. The food is all great, seafood or meat. This time I had the Macadamia Nut crusted Mahi, which was outstanding. We shared a pair of appetizers, the veggie spring rolls with a great tangy sauce and the Potstickers - both great.

They give you an unlimited amount of edamame with their special salt that is excellent. It's a great way to spend your time between courses, and it's good for you! We asked for some of the salt to go, so we could enjoy it at home.

The restaurant seems smaller, particularly on Friday and Saturday night because they attract a great crowd. They have a fun bar area, or you can eat on bar stools and watch them cook your dinner. The best seats in the house, in our opinion, are the booth seats. You can fit four people and the seats seem higher so you can check out the whole restaurant. It's also nicer if you want a more romantic setting.

They have free Valet Parking, which is great because the parking lot is pretty full most weekends. So for basically a tip you get to let them park your car. Reservations are really required on the weekend. They can handle larger groups, and have a special room if needed.

Decent wine list, have a few whites we like, and a good selection of reds.

Best thing I can close with is we never miss a chance to eat at Roy's, and we are in Orlando several times a year. Can't wait till our next trip!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Amazing Food, Amazing Service. Top Marks for Roy's.”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We visited Roy's as a party of 6 and we wanted somewhere with a great seafood menu. Having been there a few times before, with some mixed server results, we were hopeful of a good experience.

We started with drinks at the bar. It had a great atmosphere, it was really buzzing. Some had cocktails, which were great. The wine list is pretty extensive, so we had no problems making a selection.

Our table was ready a little early, which was great for us. From the moment we sat down, we were given exemplary service from our server, Mike. Nothing was too much trouble. He was attentive, but discreet, he worked really hard at looking after us. I can definitely say he set a standard that all others should follow. Top marks to him. Our food was simply amazing. From the sushi, calamari, fish, everyone had a wonderful experience.

We shared five desserts in the centre of our table, which I can totally recommend to everyone. You get to taste them all, which is a great. The Souffle is totally amazing, a must have, as is the Pineapple upside down cake.

All in all, I can highly recommend Roy's. We had a totally amazing evening, full with friends, laughter and great food and service.

Well done - can't wait to go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Best service and great food”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Visit with my parent. arrived at around 5pm, really tired and staving for the flight. At that point of time, there's really not much customer and dinner area is not open. But fine, happy hour, had some good cocktails and appetizers. Then move to the dining. Highlights of the meal:
Snack: beans, are very specially cooked and taste great. We are offered an additional plate and finished both.
Appetizers: Vegetable tempera is delicious, very good deal considering the price.
Entrees: Butterfish!!!! Every review recommend that.
Dessert: Chocolate cake!!!! another amazing item on the menu. I would keep what make it special a secret. just try it, believe me.

Price easy $50, but totally worth it.

And at the very end, emphasize the quality of service. Every waiter/waitress are warm and kind, and most impressive of all enthusiastic at their job here. Absolute 5-star serving.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Food is very good. Service is spectacular”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Food here is very good. Great blend of Hawaiian influences with high quality fish and ingredients. Hawaiian martini is a can't miss. Butterfish very good as well. What really set the restaurant apart was the service. Ate at the bar by myself. However, sitting next to a number of regulars who were clearly well taken care of which is why they keep coming back. Bartender comp'ed my appetizer because it came out late, even though I barely noticed. A couple small plates also presented by the bar complementary. Worth a return trip for the service alone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zmoba96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Roy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing