We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Birthday to Me!”
Review of Tijuana Flats

Tijuana Flats
Ranked #456 of 3,829 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Description: The "Anything Goes" approach to food, wall art, hot sauce & life in general.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
“Happy Birthday to Me!”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

I was working on my birthday and I decided to treat myself to my favorite spot to grab a quick bite to eat. I needed to justify my enormous order so I mentioned it was my birthday. About mid way through my meal one of the servers brought me some churros and wished me a happy birthday! I couldn't believe it. The people here are always so nice but I wouldn't have ever expected that! Sadly I wasn't able to get their names but the two girls who were closing on May 3rd 2014 made my birthday so much better by their simple gesture. You can't beat the little thing. They always make such a big difference! Thank you ladies!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    45
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham CT
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Our family stopped here for dinner one night. Cute little place located in a strip mall. Waitresses helped to explain the menu. Everyone enjoyed their Mexican food. Kids ordered tacos and the adults had Flautas and Burritos. All yummy! We enjoyed trying the various sauces.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank huntjump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Tacos”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Had lunch and dinner here during our stay. Both occasions the food was excellent, the staff friendly and helpful. Tacos are out of this world good

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scooter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, Ut
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Concept great--execution hit and miss”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Husband and I ate dinner here on Saturday evening after reading reviews on this site and yelp. From the reviews I expected a salsa bar, but it is actually a hot sauce bar, think different flavors and styles of hot pepper sauce (tobasco). Disappointed. We ordered the trio chips and salsa appetizer. Chips, queso, guacamole and salsa. Nothing special about any of them. Not much flavor anywhere. We added quite a variety of hot sauce to each of them so they had any flavor at all! My husband ordered a chicken chimichanga and carnitas (pork) enchilada combo plate and was very pleased with his meal. The tomatoes, jalapeños, olives, lettuce, onions, cheese and sour cream that garnished both entrees were a nice fresh addition. The refried beans and rice were standard nothing out of the ordinary and barely warm.

I ordered fish tacos. The idea was nice but the execution fell far short. I ordered soft corn tortillas which were cold and dry. I'm not sure if the fish was blackened with seasonings, which I love, or just burned, but it was definitely black, way over cooked and cold. It had a nice crisp cabbage slaw with a fresh vinaigrette dressing inside which I enjoyed very much. Again, nondescript rice and beans, also cold.

It was not busy even though it was a Saturday night so no blame can be placed there.

I am giving them 3 stars because it may have just been an off night and I would probably give them one more chance because I think they have a great concept. Nice friendly service, casual atmosphere, reasonable prices, fresh ingredients but they need to fix their kitchen problems.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nova scotia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best mexican food!!”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Love this place. Fresh and fast. If you have room for dessert, try the cookie dough stuffed fried tortillas......mouth watering!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 37goingon29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TijuanaFlats, Public Relations Manager at Tijuana Flats, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
37goingon29, thank you for the great review. We're glad to hear that you enjoy our fresh Tex-Mex and cooke dough flautas. We appreciate your support and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tijuana Flats also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Tijuana Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing