We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Contempo Cafe

Contempo Cafe
Ranked #312 of 3,749 Restaurants in Orlando
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Wave at the passing monorail while you order on touch-screen kiosks. Menu items include flavorful flatbreads and hot and savory sandwiches, like honey lime chicken
Florida
Level Contributor
114 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Love this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Have been to Disney many times but only discovered the Contempo Café about 2 years ago. Located on level 4 of the Contemporary resort, it offers a nice view of the monorails passing through. I mean: what could be more Disney? Ordering is electronic which might be confusing at first but it works, and works well. Service is fast. Menu is good - flatbreads, deli sandwiches, salads and at a reasonable (Disney standards) price. Highly recommend giving it a try.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MC2000FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    209
    104
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Confusing process, decent food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

We ate here on our last day when we discovered that all or most of the quick service restaurants in the Magic Kingdom do not open until 11:00. Although the food was pretty good, the process is really poor and it took far longer than it should have. First, you select your meal on tablet computer located near the entrance. That went fine and should be easy for most people. But once you place your order, the whole process falls apart. Do you go to the counter? Do you go pick up dessert? Do you have to get a bottled drink (because you can't see that there are soda fountains in restaurant seating area)? Do you go to the cash registers? We were terribly confused and there was no one there to tell us what to do. The answer is that you key your order on the computer. Then you go pick up a dessert if you are having one. Then you go to the cash register where you will be given a cup for your drink if you want one. Then you are given a device that will flash when (eventually) your meal is ready. Aside from the very confusing process with absolutely no signage or assistance, there is inadequate seating and it took so long for our food to come out that this should be considered table service instead of quick service. It is fortunate that we had left plenty of time in our schedule or we might have had to catch our Magical Express bus before we had a chance to eat. It is just crazy to have such a confusing process without signage, directions, a cast member to assist or something. The food was pretty good, especially the flatbread, but we would not do this again, just because of the confusion and the long wait for food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ArkansasOrchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Wish we would have eaten here more. It has better food than at the parks (aside from some Epcot locations) and it is less crowded. great selections to choose from. If we get chance to stay at Contemporary again, I would include more quick service lunches or dinners here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank d k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon,PA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

First night of my family trip last week we had eaten several times at Contempo Cafe. The first night after we checked in at BLT We went for late dinner due to travel issues with connecting flight. So Ihad the Spice crusted Mahi sandwich. I did not expect that from the first bite I was eating heaven on a foccacia bun. The spices were just tremendous with chipotle and garlic red pepper and the mayo dressing was tangy. Even my wife liked it. Now the same night my wife had the chicken spinach articoke flatbread pizza. It had a great goat cheese whit sauce. Our next meals we equally as good as i saw they had a Lobster roll on the menu, if you are on the dinning plan it is worth as the sandwich is pricey at $16.49. It was cold and crisp the lettuce was not wilted and had a snap to it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bigmick318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
193 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Quick and clean. Friendly staff and good quality food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

This is a fast dining option. You can order from a kiosk and have the food brought to your table. Seating is plentiful...it's not like the breakfast rat race in the other resorts.

Bakery items are amazing. The cinnamon rolls are the best we've ever had.

They offer lots of healthy options, especially for the kids.

The pricing isn't too bad compared to the other restaurants in the resort. I'd say with drinks it averages out to about $15 pp per meal.

We ate there multiple times during our stay and it was always clean. The people were always super friendly and helpful.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank daynasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Contempo Cafe also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Contempo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing