We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good paella” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paella House

Paella House
Ranked #924 of 3,634 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: Spanish, European, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pretty good paella”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This restaurant has a great paella for a reasonable price. The portions are big; 3 people can eat a paella for 3. Recommend the mixed paella with seafood, chicken, pork and chorizo.

For appetizer, we had the tortilla Espanola (omelet with potatoes) and it was tasty and the right moist.

It's not a fancy place, but the food is good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Edme D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    30
    17
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicagoland
Level Contributor
238 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Definitely Trying Hard - Perhaps I Had A Bad Nite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Went there based on TA reviews - I'm a huge fan of paella / tapas, and they definitely cover some of the key areas: croquettes, sangria, paella. Collective feedback from all four in my party - just average on the classics, but sangria was good. One in my party ordered the mahi mahi entree and indicated it was quite (and surprisingly) good. The Valencian paella was subpar - tasted like frozen veggies and unseasoned meat. Would return to give them another try - suspect I just had a bad nite here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank andyman1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Really folks'! Not a lot here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Sometimes you can tell quality by the number of people entering or leaving at dinner time. We visited today after reading the good reviews. We sat out front in the parking lot for 10 minutes. No one left or entered. That should have been a clue! There was one other couple sitting in this place containing wooden tables. We stayed. The calamari was good. The dipping sauce was unflavorable. The sangria was flat however the wine was excellent. The hot rolls were very good. We ordered the seafood paella which was somewhat tasteless but ok for locals, I think. Not something that I would return for seconds. The men's bath was dark because only one of the four light bulbs was working. We were there for about 1.5 hours and other than the couple at the other table, there were no other paying customers. This place as potential within the local community that is looking for a Spanish dish. However, beyond the local family related clients, it leaves a lot to be desire. However, I support small family owned businesses and I hope they get a great chef to help the business grow.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 65940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“OK but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

I can't understand all the glowing reviews. It was OK but it was far from five star. We had the house special cold tapa. Presentation was basic, the olives were pimento stuffed from a jar, supermarket quality, also the meats and cheese could have been bought in Publix down the road.

The paella mixta again was OK but the ingredients were not fresh, the chicken and the calamari were rather chewy.

Service was great though, but we were the only customers there on a Monday night.

All in all a resounding average.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Family Operated Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

The Paella was great and a huge serving that with leftovers taken home produce another two meals. The service was great as well. This was our second visit and they honored a Groupon with no hesitation or snarling.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank wgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paella House also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Paella House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing