We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Disney's BoardWalk Villas
Ranked #39 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2010

This is our 4th trip to Disney (3rd staying on-site, previously stayed at Wildnerness Lodge Villas and Swan) and we have mixed feelings about the Boardwalk Villas. The hotel is beautiful and the location is fantastic, especially if you're an Epcot and HS fan. Unfortunately, the layout of the Villas can be a bit of a turn-off. Most of the villa rooms are quite a distance from the lobby and elevators. While a lot of walking is expected during a Disney vacation, it can be annoying to spend so much time just to get to one of the hotel shops or back to your room after a long day at the parks, especially if you're lugging tired kids along.
We used online check-in 10 days prior to arrival and check-in at the hotel was quick and hassle-free. We arrived before noon and our room was ready which was a pleasant surprise! The location of our 1 bedroom Villa was fantastic with a view of the quiet pool and a partial view of the waterway to the Studios. We were very happy with the view as we had paid for a standard view (courtyard/parking lot). The bathroom counters and floors could have been cleaned more thoroughly but I broke out a pack of disinifecting wipes and just dealt with it myself. Intended to complain about it if cleaning didn't improve but had no further problems after first day. (Tipping your housekeeper well usually seems to do the trick!) Full kitchen was well stocked and everything was in working order.
We loved the 5 minute walk to Epcot and the other Epcot hotels! Also not a bad walk to Hollywood Studios. Used the water launches to both parks a few times too. Found it much quicker to walk though. The bus transportation to the other theme parks and Downtown Disney is HORRIBLE!! Bus service is shared with Swan, Dolphin, Yacht and Beach Club Resorts. Prepare to tack on at least 30 minutes of travel time each way when using bus service (not including the 15 minute wait). We found it completely unacceptable that 5 of the most expensive resorts on Disney property are forcing guests to share service with each other. If the long wait and 4 additional stops doesn't get to you, the fact that you will most likely have to stand in the aisle for over a half an hour makes the "happiest place on Earth" seem a little less happy. Our advice would be to complain to management (probably onto deaf ears) and/or take a taxi. Ten bucks including tip to save your sanity is worth it!
Despite the odd layout of the hotel and the terrible transportation, we were glad we had the opportunity to stay at the Boardwalk Villas and enjoyed our time there. We took some time to check out the Beach Club across the lake and decided that we'll most likely stay there during our next trip to Disney.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank flyawaygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,113 - 1,119 of 1,298 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2010

This was our first time at the Boardwalk Villas and we absolutely loved it. This has become our new favorite resort at Walt Disney World. We stayed in a studio villa. It was on the top floor overlooking the feature pool. We were very near the elevators so we had none of the issues with distance that we'd heard about. My only complaint was that the pool area would get quite loud in the afternoon with all the activities and games going on -- that made for difficult napping. In the future, I think we'll ask to not overlook the pool area. You cannot beat the location -- walk to Hollywood Studios and Epcot. We spent nine nights at this resort in April of 2010 and cannot wait to go back.

The staff was exceedingly friendly and helpful. We did not encounter one staff member who didn't have a pleasant comment. Kudos to the management on having such a terrific staff. Our housekeepers were very good and kept our room in wonderful shape for our trip.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMCMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

We regularly stay at Boardwalk as Disney Vacation Club members but always look forward to going back and we're never disappointed.
We had a great studio room on the ground floor just a minute away from the Villa pool and community hall. Huge and comfortable room - plenty big ebough for the 3 of us.
Busy time of year but everything still seemed to run smoothly.
We stayed 10 nights but were so sorry to leave - looking forward to going back in October.
Overall a great place to stay - cant fault anything - a true Disney gem

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karensolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

I am a member of the Disney Vacation Club and hadn't stayed at the Boardwalk Villas in about 8 years. Stayed in a 1 bedroom and the room looked to have been recently repainted/spruced up. The pull-out couch was fairly new and comfortable according to my son. The room was clean and the balcony was large. Kitchen stocked and clean. Flat screen TV's also. This is a big resort and the rooms are very spread out. My advice is to use the side/back doors as much as possible. There are doors that open along the path that goes around the resort and this is much easier than going to the lobby to get out every time depending on where your room is located. The path can take you to the pools and to the Boardwalk area. The main pool area is very entertaining for children as there is a large water slide and a bar for mom and dad. I would stay here more often if there were ever any rooms available, but I own at the Beach Club and haven't been there in 6 years either. Usually stay at Key West or Saratoga because of size, availability, and parking but Boardwalk was a really nice change. Had a lot of fun walking around the Boardwalk on a Sat. night.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palmharbormichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

My husband and I are major Disney lovers and chose the Boardwalk Villas for our honeymoon. We LOVED it! From the minute we walked in, I said "IThis is the Disney hotel I want to stay at!!" (I'm sure the others are great too, though). The kitchenette was perfect for a quick breakfast in the morning, the hotel was clean, and of course we were treated like the only people there. When we weren't at the parks or downtown Disney, we enjoyed the clean boardwalk area and all the restaurants and shops. It was a quick walk to the Yacht and Beach club resorts which were fun too. The best was the walking distance to Epcot and Hollywood studios and not having to wait to board any busses or Ferrys to get there. It may not be in our budget to stay for our next trip, but we are going to hang out there anyway! Also, it was very quiet inside the hotel and easy to fall asleep.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyM822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

I have only undertaken to writing a review about this resort after having spent a few days at Disney Port Orleans, French Quarter this past March. Although there's no question, Port Orleans French Quarter is a lovely place, it cannot surpass Disney Boardwalk Villas. We visited during spring break in March of 2009. We had a one bedroom villa which was spacious enough for a family of four. The kitchen came in handy when we were sick of restaurant food. The fireworks from Epcot were spectacular at night and the location was top notch. This resort has set the bar quite high. The only concern I have ( and it's a small one) is there was no quick service dining in the area. Other than that - the experience was totally enjoyable and our family will be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MimiatOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

On our quest to stay at as many different Disney resorts as possible, we decided to try the BW villas on this trip. Our feeling is that you can't beat the EPCOT resorts in terms of location. The room seemed worn, but it IS a hotel room and there are LOTS of people passing through. But still clean and comfortable and to Disney standards. The kids loved the boardwalk, loved walking over to EPCOT and even walked back from HS when the boats were packed. The only downside to this resort is the fact that there is no in hotel restaurant. You have to go out to the boardwalk to get anything to eat or drink. There is some way to order pizza to the room but it is from one of the restaurants on the walk. We never tried it, but heard or read that you could do it. Tried out the pool one day too and it was perfect for the kids and the pool bar was perfect for me.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahndz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#69 of 342 in Orlando
1,734 reviews
Disney's Beach Club Villas
#104 of 342 in Orlando
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's BoardWalk Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's BoardWalk Villas

Address: 2101 Epcot Resorts Blvd, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8442
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#13 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#53 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#69 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $446 - $942 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's BoardWalk Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless elegance meets old-fashioned charm at this waterfront Resort hotel. Delight in saltwater taffy-colored cottages, private courtyards and picturesque gardens-plus the ragtime sounds and carnival pastimes of the exciting Coney Island-style boardwalk. Reminiscent of turn-of-the-century Atlantic City, Disney's BoardWalk Villas is located within walking distance to both Epcot and Disney's Hollywood Studios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Disney's BoardWalk Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Boardwalk Villas Hotel Orlando
Disney Boardwalk Hotel
Disneys Boardwalk Hotel
Disney Boardwalk Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing