We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some Really Good Things Here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Disney's BoardWalk Villas
Ranked #48 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Green Bay, WI
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Some Really Good Things Here”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We spent 2 weeks at Disney Orlando. One week at Saratoga Springs Resort and one week at Boardwalk. We preferred Boardwalk. It seems closer to the park action and it is such a nice quaint setting. However, this is just personal preference. Both have the same sorts of amenities or lack thereof. Disney does NOT clean the rooms all week! Tuesdays you get clean towels. That is it. Only Disney could get away with this. Units are very clean but seriously need updating. The couch was from the 1980's as was the decor. All was too old for the price. Our view was overlooking a construction sight on the 1st floor. So not much here to brag about. They would have moved us but we thought "so what" we won't be in the room for that long of a time. We had a one bedroom unit and size wise, it was more than adequate. Each room has its own washer and dryer which I love.
One thing worth mentioning is that the handicapped service at Disney is FANTASTIC! It has free valet parking for handicapped individuals (you must bring your state sticker/card/window hanger). Since Boardwalk has such tight parking that is far from the rooms, I thought this was a godsend for my handicapped husband. Boardwalk is about a 2 block walk to a back Epcot entrance or there is a boat stop right outside the complex which takes you to Epcot, Wild Kingdom or the resorts across the lagoon from Boardwalk. In addition the free Disney bus service is nearby and just a great way to go. It's clean, easy to use, very regular and goes to all parks and resorts. Food wise, there is no restaurant place to eat in the Boardwalk villas. So you must travel or use the very limited kitchen and cook your own. We got the regular meal plan so we did very little cooking in the villa. Instead we made reservations via our iphone for sit down meals at various other resorts and ate most fast food meals at the Boardwalk Bakery which we found to be one of the best deals at Disney. We found that eating at the resorts was much better than eating at the parks. The quality and quantity of food is better at the resorts with less horrible crowds and some places to sit. In addition, the meal plan is the only way to go. Food is vastly overpriced anywhere and with the regular meal plan we had our fill. Often it was quite good. We found that buffets were a cut above the horrible, carb laden, fat filled steam table buffets we have at home. Many resort restaurants have themes and the food was often a little different experience which we like. We didn't feel that the restaurants which "cost" 2 sit down meal credits were necessarily worth it. There are resorts for one credit that are fairly good. Living on the Disney Boardwalk is a pleasant experience itself. There are benches all over and it is a lot of fun to sit, relax and enjoy people watching. There are a couple of sit down restaurants along the boardwalk that you can walk to but when it is raining, its not fun. We enjoyed the ice cream and candy shop on the boardwalk and sat out people watching or relaxing after returning from the parks. This would not be a good place for young kids who could not spend all day at the parks. There was little for small kids to do and I did not see any playground equipment. We had the Magic Bands and the concept is just great. It is your room key, meal counter, park ticket, parking entrance checker etc. Just about anything you do is recorded on the band. Sometimes the bands did not work and that held us up. However, Disney folks who are arguably the most polite folks in the country quickly helped us. We saw a TV ad for the bands and it made us laugh to see how easily the bands worked on TV. Reality is more like trying them 3-4 times, contorting your wrist to connect and finally ripping the thing off your arm and sticking it up to the receiver. I thought that the same company who rolled out the Affordable Care Act, developed the bands (heehee)! Anyway, it was magic when they worked.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sissy1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    396
    91
    47
    30
See reviews for
802
257
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

My wife and I spent three nights here. We've stayed at several different hotels on property over the years and this is the first time we left knowing that we would never return to this particular one -- three nights with three different rooms.

Check-in went smoothly and we got a room at the far end next to a pool undergoing maintenance. Okay, we dropped our bags and headed off to the parks thinking work would stop by 5-ish. Returned at 9:30pm to find generators & lights would be running all night -- no advance notice of this! Hotel was fully booked so we couldn't change rooms till the next day. Returned at lunch the following day to change rooms - got a room at the other far end of the hotel. New room seemed quite warm, called maintenance to check it (AC broken) and 1.5 hours later we were headed to yet another room. Mind you, at this point we've wasted a 3-4 hours of our limited vacation time getting our room settled. Finally got to unpack and headed back to parks. Worst part - never once did a Disney employee apologize for the inconvenience this caused us! You can definitely call this a non-Magical experience.

As for the hotel, we saw little difference between this Deluxe Resort and some of the Moderate Resorts we've stayed in - room for room. In our opinion, the large price differential between a Deluxe & a Moderate Resort simply is not worth it. We recommend you save some money by not staying in a Deluxe Resort. The only advantage we saw to this Deluxe Resort was its close proximity to the parks - period, end of story. We will be back for future visits to the parks but will not bother with the Boardwalk Villas or another Deluxe Resort.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ken_Porter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jena, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The hotel is showing its age a little, but I think I only notice this because my family stays here every other year. The one bedroom has a spa tub and separate shower/toilet area. The studio is large with a tiny kitchen area and a basic bathroom with a separate vanity area. Many little conveniences.
The service is always friendly and the boardwalk feel is charming. At night there are little performances, and kiosks selling typical boardwalk fare. The restaurants on the boardwalk are great and ESPN club gets packed. Jellyrolls is right outside and offers a dialing piano bar. Very cool when all the Disney employees are there on a night off, it gets lively!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We spent the night at the Boardwalk Villas before heading off on a Disney Cruise. Although the room could use a facelift, it was not garish at all. The location was wonderful, food was good, and the actual grounds were really sweet. Make a point of going out onto the porch to see the kids' chairs. They are adorable. Also, many boardwalk type artifacts from the carousel horse on the welcome mat to the various touches around the lobby and walk ways.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mzsunnyblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

This resort is the best on Disney property!! Awesome location, walk to MGM ( sorry I'm old school) and EPCOT. Plenty of places to eat and drink. Resort is an A plus! Boardwalk is right there and boats to either park also.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jfullmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The hotel is ideal with a family traveling with young children. The location on the boardwalk allows for access to a number of dinning choices,and walking access to Epcot, and ferry boat access to other parks. Having a samll kitchen is very helpful as well. The rooms are large and clean. Free wi-fi is also nice. The staff was friendly, and seemed to function the way you would expect. The pool is very nice with a cool slide for the kids. The only negative I would mention is the current construction on one of their small pools. Massive flood lights are on all night, which I assume is a legal obligation, and there is a constant hum the power source, not a real big deal, but noticable.

Room Tip: We requested a top floor, as to not hear kids at all hours above us. Frankly, I was impressed with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stef&Britt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We are a multi-visit Disney family. This was our first time at Boardwalk villas. Location is excellent to hit all parks. You can walk 5 minutes to Epcot or take a 10 minute boat ride to Hollywood Studios. Rooms are clean and neat. The Boardwalk area is great for dinner, dessert, coffee, whatever. Entertainment is fun. We used dvcrentalstore.com and booked the room at a great discount. Ask for Lauren.

Room Tip: Any room facing the pool is nice and we were not bothered by noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Davidjta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.1 mi away
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#61 of 338 in Orlando
1,685 reviews
3.1 mi away
Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge
0.4 mi away
Disney's Beach Club Villas
Disney's Beach Club Villas
#90 of 338 in Orlando
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort
0.4 mi away
Disney's Beach Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's BoardWalk Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's BoardWalk Villas

Property: Disney's BoardWalk Villas
Address: 2101 Epcot Resorts Blvd, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8442
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#16 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#53 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#69 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's BoardWalk Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless elegance meets old-fashioned charm at this waterfront Resort hotel. Delight in saltwater taffy-colored cottages, private courtyards and picturesque gardens-plus the ragtime sounds and carnival pastimes of the exciting Coney Island-style boardwalk. Reminiscent of turn-of-the-century Atlantic City, Disney's BoardWalk Villas is located within walking distance to both Epcot and Disney's Hollywood Studios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Disney's BoardWalk Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Boardwalk Villas Hotel Orlando
Disney Boardwalk Hotel
Disneys Boardwalk Hotel
Disney Boardwalk Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing