We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing meal”
Review of Ohana

Ohana
Ranked #104 of 3,790 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Asian, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: 'Ohana restaurant in Disney's Polynesian Resort offers a Character Dining breakfast and a Polynesian-inspired dinner menu. Both meals are served family-style—quite fitting since 'ohana means family in the Hawaiian language.Character Dining at BreakfastJoin Lilo and Stitch for 'Ohana's Best Friends Breakfast! Feel like you're a part of their intergalactic 'ohana when you join them for an American breakfast influenced by the exotic tastes of the Polynesian islands. Menu selections include scrambled eggs, Island-style fried potatoes, Hawaiian pork sausages, smoked bacon and a variety of fresh fruits and breads.Family-Style Polynesian DinnerWhen the doors open for dinner, the bellow of conch shells welcome you to 'Ohana. Adding to the island ambiance are tikis, storytellers and coconut races, in which children sweep coconuts with brooms across the hardwood floor down the center of the restaurant. The family fun continues as everyone is encouraged to play with hula hoops and dance to island music.The 'Ohana servers add to the festive atmosphere, as they dash between tikis and tropical greenery to bring plates of Polynesian specialties to your table. Choose from skewers roasted over an expansive 18-foot oak fire pit, and side dishes include stir-fried vegetables, fried dumplings, lo mein noodles and a salad starter.
Syracuse, New York, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An amazing meal”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

One of the best restaurants at Walt Disney World. The food is served family style and you won't go away hungry. The moment you are to be seated, the hostess picks up warm pineapple bread for you to enjoy while you wait for your waiter. Your waiter arrives with your appetizer, which is a basket of glazed chicken wings and pork dumplings, accompanying broccoli peas & Thai noodles. The mixed green salad is heavenly, with the lightest dressing of pomegranate mandarin orange dressing.
Then the main course arrives....skewers of marinated steak, shrimp, Asian BBQ pork & chicken. They keep coming back around with fresh skewers of the above mentioned meats, and you can eat as much as you like. But save room for the most delicious banana bread pudding you have ever eaten. Served warm with ice cream and a warm banana carmel foster sauce. This is to die for. And I don't even like banana pudding, but this is so unbelievably good, you can't help but fall in love with banana bread pudding. I HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend O'hana's. You even get to be entertained while you eat, even inviting the kids as well as the adults up to participate. Fun for all.
But you must make advance dining reservations as this is one busy restaurant but so worth it. Wait staff extremely efficient, you are never waiting for more food. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Reba O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,440
    877
    472
    204
    127
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Juno Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Character Breakfast was Great!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We enjoyed our breakfast at Ohana and our 2 year old son liked seeing the characters. He was shy, but Mickey helped him warm right up. I had not expected such a delicious breakfast-what a treat. I also thought it would be pricey and it was only $20 per adult. For such good food & more if you wanted it - well worth it. We enjoyed the fruits so much they gladly brought us more. With delicious plentiful food this restaurant is a WIN! We had a 10:30 reservation time & did not feel rushed to leave which is nice for a packed place. Wish I had thought not to buy photo since I did recall we had scanned photo pass.
In the past we've been for dinner and I was pleased to find the same level of food and service. This will be our go-to place for return trips for sure.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank guavabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
107 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Yummy breakfast and dinner”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We had a good breakfast here with the usual characters.
Dinner was a nice surprise! We never have high expectations Of Disney food but this place was a nice change from the regular American buffet. All Hawaiian flavored food and it tasted good. Definitely recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank viajeelmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
468 reviews
380 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Our favorite breakfast on property.”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful breakfast here with my family yesterday. My boys are 9 and 13 and don't get so excited about the characters anymore but we still like taking their pictures with them.

We love the 'Stitch' juice and the bread and fruit that start are excellent. The eggs, bacon, sausge and potatoes are excellent. The biscuits are good but a little on the small and hard side for me. It would be nice to have a fluffier biscuit. The kids still love the small Mickey waffles.

They so not serve grits but if you ask for them they will go next door to get you some. The grits are so creamy and truly are the best grits on property.

Service was a little slow and we had to ask more than once for hot chocolate, etc.

Overall, a great experience if you are not rushed.

Skip the picture package for thirty something dollars and have them scan a photo pass when your family picture is taken. Then visit the photo shop in Epcot or other park and print the picture there for much less.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jwillstp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“How do we love you? Let us count the ways...”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

1- We love the Polynesian atmosphere (and drinks...the Lapu Lapu is what you always dreamed of inside of a pineapple).

2- We love the salad dressing (you read that right...the salad dressing). Honey-lime and just perfect.

3- We love the coconut races for the kids.

4- We love the leis.

5- we love the chicken wings. Honey-coriander. DELICIOUS!! If only Buffalo Wild Wings would recreate this sauce...

6- The lo mein noodles...mmmmmmmm.

7- The pork dumplings (particularly when dipped into the peanut sauce...more on this later).

8- The sauces: peanut, spicy mustard, and sweet and sour. My husband really loves him some sauces, and these tickle every one of his tastebuds.

9- The meat...served on giant skewers right to your very table. Be sure not to fill up on chicken or turkey, though. The beef, pork, and ESPECIALLY the giant shrimp of truly fantastic.

10- I forgot to mention the bread...just delightful and pineapplely.

11- The bread pudding...this needs no explanation.

12- Soft drinks are included in the price of your meal.

13- The fact that it is an all you can eat buffet served family-style at your table. You get to truly enjoy your family without everyone jumping up every few minutes.

14- They pack so many tables into the restaurant, but it doesn't feel overly crowded.

15- The view is spectacular. Overlooking Bay Lake, the pool and volcano, and the Magic Kingdom. Try to arrange your reservation to be there when the electric water pageant will be taking place on the lake (usually around 9 PM).

16- The ukelele.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BeckyD423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ohana also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Ohana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing