We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“classic but dated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arnold Palmer's Bay Hill Golf Club

Arnold Palmer's Bay Hill Golf Club
Ranked #21 of 117 Outdoor Activities in Orlando
Attraction details
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“classic but dated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

overall it is of course a great course and that's why the pga plays here. The service and some of the facilities seemed dated and in need of imorovement

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank alex n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    13
    2
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relax in style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this resort and had the most relaxing, comfortable stay. staff were friendly, food in restaurant was great, mature lady who served us in members lounge was friendly and accommodating and room was understated but very pleasant and clean.
Commented on leaving that water in rooms on arrival would be a welcome find otherwise can't fault the place . 50's decor but fresh and clean Expected Bob Hope or Bing to come round any corner. Place is littered with AP memorabilia and nice touch that when you first put tv on it defaults to a short movie on the great man himself so you get to know him a little better so makes the stay like visiting a favourite uncles house. Pool brilliant for swimmers if you don't wish to golf but course also has some beautiful holes. Pool food good too and plenty parking. Cant praise this place enough Will definitely be back if you wish to stay in orlando and avoid the madness of the parks and International Drive.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Memorable and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

I was part of a buddies golf trip to Bay Hill in April 2014. We stayed at Bay Hill in order to play the golf course but also used the lodge as a jumping off point to play both courses at Grand Cypress and one at Orange County National.

The lodge has an old school feel that seems appropriate given the time period that Arnold Palmer was active on tour. However, if you're into super modern, high-end trappings then Bay Hill isn't for you. Some may argue the lodge needs to be updated, but to me it felt more "Arnie" the way it is.

It's worth walking around the lodge area to see the many photographs of Mr. Palmer during his career. The rooms are fairly large as compared to the average hotel. Everything was clean and well maintained. All the shampoo, soap, etc. in the hotel is the Arnold Palmer brand. Naturally, when we turned on the TV it went right to the Golf Channel!

The highlight of the lodge for me was that our room backed up to the golf course. Every morning I sat outside our room and watched the grounds crew manicure the greens and practice facilities as the sun rose. What a way to start your day!

I enjoyed the golf course at Bay Hill and would recommend it to anyone. It's a challenging test and was in fairly good condition considering the Arnold Palmer Invitational had been there a few weeks before. There were some browned out spots from where fans walked but that's to be expected. My sense is the course is more well regarded than it really is because it's associated with Mr. Palmer and the Arnold Palmer Invitational. Nevertheless, it's a great place to spend 4 hours and fun to play shots from the spots you've watched the pros play for years.

I was very fortunate to meet Mr. Palmer when I played Bay Hill. A buddy and I were on the putting green warming up before our round and sure enough he and his wife, Kit, came cruising by in their cart. I couldn't miss the opportunity to meet him so I went right up and said hello. Of course, he was very pleasant and happy to shake my hand. That made the whole trip worthwhile.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JF81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Arnold Palmer PGA golf tournament”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We booked for the whole day. It was our first time going to such an event and we enjoyed it tremendously. The weather was perfect. The organization of it was excellent. The down side was there was not enough parking so we had to scramble to find a parking place and missed the first half hour of the tournament.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KOSTERJUDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Arnold Palmer Invitational Golf Tournament”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

The tournament and all staff are great! Mr. Palmer is simply stated, the best man anyone could meet! ;0)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tsreeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arnold Palmer's Bay Hill Golf Club also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Arnold Palmer's Bay Hill Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing