We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel - avoid their car rental desk like the plague”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Orlando International Airport
Ranked #97 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
pigletpink
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Average hotel - avoid their car rental desk like the plague”
Reviewed April 20, 2010

Had to stay here for 3 nights due to the flight disruption/volcano fiasco. Average airport hotel with clean ( but very dark) rooms and bathroom. Breakfast included - typical US fare of pancakes, pastries, waffles etc alongside scrambled egg. Tea and coffee available all say and is complimentary.
However, AVOID THE CAR RENTAL DESK LIKE THE PLAGUE! they are called AFFORDABLE CAR RENTALS - they are a complete cowboy outfit run by incompetents and their cars are death traps. Ended up having to call the local police out to them to get a refund for a car which died on us.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pigletpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    460
    186
    86
    57
See reviews for
486
321
138
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

This won it as one of the worst hotel experiences that I have had in a really long time. The Desk Clerk was so rude and unprofessional, I was upset before we even hit our room. The Halls were dirty, there was something that looked like throw up, and alot of it right outside our door. We were put in a smoking room, no-one smokes and I have asthma, so that was terrible. Smelled horrible. Common areas were really noisy. I could not wait to leave.
Wingate will not be for us again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichiganPicturechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Now I can understand the different review opinions!! The male desk clerks we're not very nice, nor understanding on the phone, or in person. The girls were very nice. The on-site manager was very good. I ended up giving a positive review, but you'll have to read the letter I e-mailed to Wyndham to understand why. I guess you have to be careful in what you get!!
Below is the e-mail:

I booked through Priceline. The following day when I called the hotel to confirm the res, I was told that it was a smoking room with 2 beds. As I am asthmatic I requested a NON-smoking room, and as I was alone requested one bed. I was told that none were available, but would be put on a "list" for such a room. Upon checking in I was told there were no rooms available, again. When I got to the room it smelled horrible, and was extremely cold, although the wall thermostat indicated it was set at 82. I tried to turn the A/C off, but it would not. I called the desk, and I booked through Priceline. The following day when I called the hotel to confirm the res, I was told that it was a smoking room with 2 beds. As I am asthmatic I requested a NON-smoking room, and as I was alone requested one bed. I was told that none were available, but would be put on a "list" for such a room. Upon checking in I was told there were no rooms available, again. When I got to the room it smelled horrible, and was extremely cold, although the wall thermostat indicated it was set at 82. I tried to turn the A/C off, but it would not. I called the desk, and was told somebody would be up to fix it. As I looked at the room, it was obvious that I got the "Priceline" room. The furniture was in disrepair, the carpet was dirty, and the tv remote didn't function, except to adjust the volume, and power on/off. After freezing for more than 45 min I went down to the desk, and was assured that someone would be there soon. After about 10 minutes the manager came up, and went through the usual fixes, and it would not turn off. He said that his maintenance man would be up to fix it. I told him I would be by the pool to warm up. After about 1/2 hr I started to return to the room and was intercepted by the manager in the hall who told me that the entire A/C unit would have to be replaced, and asked if I would rather have another room. Of course I did. He perused the computer, and asked if I had to have smoking?? NO!! Did I have to have 2 beds? NO!! No problem, he found the non-existing room for me...right down the hall from the "Priceline" room.
My kudos to the manager, as he went out of his way to accommodate me, and offered to help me moved (he must have noticed I am mobility impaired). The second room was what I had expected from staying at other Wyndham properties, and met, or exceeded, my expectations.
My suggestion is that if you're going to list with "Priceline" then have an acceptable room.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TommyTPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St George Island, FL
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2010

When I stayed at the hotel on 3/24 I was very comfortable, knowing I was going to have to come back on 3/29 from the Bahamas, I booked the room in person and made arrangemengs for my vehicle to stay in their parking lot instead of taking it to the airport. On 3/29, all flights out of Marsh Harbor were cancelled due to weather conditions. I found a phone I could use to call the hotel and cancel my reservation, which I did at 3:58 (cancellation was confirmed). Finally got back to the USA on 3/30 and retrieved my vehicle and came on home. The next day, I find a charge for my room on the bank statement. I called the hotel and was told it was for a no-show. I explained the situation to the hotel personnel (who was very rude by the way) and told he would check into it. No response from him. I again called the hotel and they verified there was a cancellation on my folio, but I was charged anyway. Called 4/9 and was told I did not call within the required 24 hours to cancel the reservation. Now how was I to know the flight would be cancelled on the day I was supposed to arrive? Opps I forgot my crystal ball. People beware of booking with this hotel. Being a hotel owner myself, I understand some circumstances are beyond peoples control, and those situations should be taken into consideration. Called Wyndham headquartes and made formal complaint. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoAnn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2010

Stayed here fro 3 nights in April. Price was OK and the hotel was pretty full. Checked in and my key did not work but they worked to fix it that evening and gave me a temporary solution. The noise from the halls and a other rooms next to mine was too loud and that made sleeping fun. Internet was free but slow. One thing this hotel does have is room amenities. Fridge, Microwave and a large room. The pool is tiny but adequate. It was packed most of the time. Buffet was nice and many restaurants are within walking distance. I did not use the shuttle but it looked like a long process to get it reserved for a trip.

My stay was just OK.....

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILMpax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc, Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2010

We stayed 3 nights in the hotel - one night at the beginning of our visit to Florida and two nights before we left to go home. The first night the room was satisfactory ; the last two were far from satisfactory . We were assigned to a room which had no thermostat control. We complained and were given another room.Again, heating and cooling were a serious problem. There was no way to control the fan. The thermostat did not allow us to reduce the temperature. The fan blasted away - first hot air and then cold air. We were either too hot or too cold. We alternated between sweating and shivering. The window could not be opened so we were at the mercy of an uncontrolable fan. In fairness, there were good things about the hotel. The room was very clean: the breakfast was very good and the location is excellent!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnLeduc_Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerside, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2010

After reading some of the reviews we were very apprehensive about our stay here, and all I can say is I think we were staying at a different hotel!!!! The hotel was clean, staff very friendly, lovely bed linen, spacious room, and a free great breakfast as well. My main concern as always is cleanliness, and after the reviews I checked every nook and cranny and it was spotlessly clean. Lovely comfy bed as well, and very near the airport if you need to catch a flight. I would recommend this hotel and will stay here again,

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JO.S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando Airport
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Orlando Airport
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orlando Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Orlando International Airport
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orlando Airport
0.4 mi away
Ramada Suites Orlando Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Orlando International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Orlando International Airport

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Orlando International Airport
Address: 5750 Hazeltine National Dr, Orlando, FL 32822-5022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#107 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wingate by Wyndham Orlando International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 1.2 miles north of the Orlando International Airport (MCO) and SR 528 (Beachline Expressway), we are also near I-4, the Florida Turnpike putting you within minutes of the Orlando/Orange County Convention Center, Disney Theme Parks, Universal Studios, Sea World, Kennedy Space Center, and of course the Florida Beaches. Several nice dining options just across the street from hotel including; Bar Louie, Outback Steakhouse, Sonny's BBQ, Marlow's Tavern and Rock & Brew among others. Within walking distance to Epic Theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Orlando International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham At Orlando International Airport Hotel Orlando
Wingate Orlando International Airport
Wyndham Orlando
Orlando Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing