We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay”

Disney's Spirit of Aloha Show
Ranked #23 of 71 Concerts & Shows in Orlando
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Disney's Spirit of Aloha Dinner Show is an all-you-care-to-eat, family-style luau featuring hula dancing and a fire-knife performer at Disney's Polynesian Resort.Situated on the Seven Seas Lagoon, the open-air covered dining theater provides a comfortable setting for authentic music and dances, with beautiful costumes, irresistable rhythms and the show-stopping fire-knife dance! The many nations of the South Pacific unite in an evening of spellbinding magic that tells the tale of a native girl returning to her people and her traditions.You'll almost believe you've been transplanted to the tropics as you and your loved ones share platters of authentic foods such as barbequed pork ribs, roast chicken, fresh pineapple, salad with mango poppy seed dressing garnished with Mandarin oranges, Polynesian-style rice and seasonal vegetables. Save room for the chocolate ""mouse"" volcano! (Parents of finicky little ones, fear not: There's a limited children's menu). Beer, wine and soft drinks are included for Guests 21 years of age or older (picture ID required). Celebrations are acknowledged in the show.
Akron, OH
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just okay”
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Attended this show with my m & two nieces ages 4 & 6. They sat us in the back and we couldn't really see. They show portion was in would say 3 acts too long and not interesting for kids. The finale of the show was great - fire baton. Food was mediocre. We used our dining plan & it was two credits. Not worth it. Our bill would have been $250 for 3 adults & 2 kids. There are much better options.

Helpful?
Thank jkfjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    205
    131
    91
    57
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Disney’s Spirit of Aloha Show is a treat for the senses. The food is plentiful, the drinks included in the price, and the entertainment is wonderful. While the story doesn’t change, the show is still just as charming and entertaining each time as the first. Young and old will enjoy the show fully.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillette, Wyoming
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy food and fun show!”
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

The food was served family-style and had lots to choose from. You can eat as much as you want, and there's even kid-friendly choices. The show was entertaining and culturally authentic. We had a great time.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jlmason44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullman, Alabama
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Marginal food, marginal first 2/3's of show”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

I was super pumped about attending and we made it about 20 minutes before it was to start.

There is ZERO advantage in being there prior to the start of the show as your reservations are predetermined and issued by the hostess.

When we were seated, the salad/noodles/slaw/pineapple cold plate was already on the tables across the entire restaurant's seating area. The noodles were good and spicy, salad appeared to be basic bagged stuff that was poorly dresses with a couple of cucumbers thrown in for effect, slaw marginal and pineapple chunks marginal.

The coconut puneapple bread was just marginal and had the taste and texture of par-baked breads that you might buy from a deli.

The main course was ok. Pulled pork was not seasoned very well and was VERY dry. Chicken was good. Ribs were not what I expected. Living in the south, I expect my ribs to have all fat and cartilage rendered out. We were picking out fat and cartilage through nearly every bite. The sauce was just a plain sugary sauce, even plain Hoisin sauce would have been a better choice.

Dessert was some kind of overbaked bread pudding that had a lit of sauce poured on it to make up for it.

The first two thirds of the show is a "Saved by the Bell-ized" story about a Polynesian family that has a daughter leaving to go to school somewhere far away (can't remeber where). Flashbacks about their relationships and heritage ensue.

Finally after you are finished eating, they begin the traditional tribal dances. These are crazy awesome! I could have watched that for another hour. If you are going to see this part, you will suffer a bit to get there.

If we had known the food and most of the show was going to be jacked up, we would have obviously made a different choice with our time and dining dollars.

Overall: C- / D+

Helpful?
1 Thank Boggus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
“Waste of time and money”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

In anticipation of a great evening, we went the long mile and invested in luau attire for the whole family. When we arrived, the hotel staff had a lot of comments regarding the matching shirts for my son and his 4 year old son and daughter in law and 18 month daughter, who were all dressed alike. We thought this was a great picture moment for us and the children, but we were herded through the picture line and escorted to seats in the back of the building. The children couldn't see the stage, which was just as well. The "skit" was horrible and they were sleeping before the fire juggler and hula dancers came out with their plastic skirts. I would say that we were dressed more authentic that the actual dancers, and probably over dressed for 85% of the crowd. At the prices that we paid, we did expect better show, better food, and alot more bang for our buck. No interest in returning.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank PATSY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Disney's Spirit of Aloha Show also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Disney's Spirit of Aloha Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing