We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Engaging evening entertainment” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hoop-Dee-Doo Musical Revue

The Hoop-Dee-Doo Musical Revue
Ranked #7 of 71 Concerts & Shows in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hoop-Dee-Doo Musical Revue is an old-fashioned dinner show that includes foot-stompin' music, nostalgic comedy and an all-you-care-to-eat dinner at Pioneer Hall in Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort & Campground. Get ready for good, ol' country fun!A long-time family favorite, the Hoop-Dee-Doo Musical Revue is hosted in a rustic dance hall, with rousing Wild West dancing, singing, and zany vaudeville comedy. You never know what to expect from the high-spirited Claire de Lune, Johnny Ringo, Dolly Drew, Six Bits Slocum, Flora Long and Jim Handy.As the Pioneer Hall Players perform skits and early song standards, equally sassy Cast Members serve your countrified feast. Between laughs, chow down on pails of all-you-care-to-eat American favorites like fried chicken, smoked BBQ pork ribs, seasonal vegetable, baked beans, fresh baked corn bread and strawberry shortcake. Unlimited draft beer, wine, sangria and soft drinks are included for Guests 21 years of age or older (proper ID required). Celebrations are acknowledged in the show.As the performance rounds out, you may be asked to join in the finale—a musical tribute to Davy Crockett. Your inner bumpkin just might emerge.Bring your whole clan of kin folk and join the frolicking fun of this folksy extravaganza.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Phoenix AZ
Level Contributor
277 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Engaging evening entertainment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our party of 12 went with varying degrees of interest to this shindig, but seeing the looks on our youngest members' faces was worth it!

We were seated on the main floor, to the left of the stage. Food was brought out promptly: yummy salad and corn bread. Beverages of all types are included: 3 varieties of wine, beer, soft drinks, and hot tea / coffee.

The revue started, and it WAS cute (I'm inherently skeptical of these types of things!) Seeing the genuine smiles on our 11-, 9-, 8-, and 7-year-olds' faces was sweet.

Then, the main course was brought out . . .ribs, chicken, corn, potatoes. We actually requested more of the chicken breast pieces, and our request was cheerfully accommodated, with a bucket brought out promptly. I requested more salad, as I'm not a fan of chicken "of the bone variety", and more delicious corn bread, and that too was happily furnished.

Strawberry shortcake was served for dessert. Pretty decent (set out "family style") but disappointingly light on the strawberries.

There is a short audience participation bit, and a bit where audience volunteers are incorporated into the show. All in all, an enjoyable (yet expensive!!!) way to spend an early evening.

(By the way, do wait for a photo to be taken of your group before you enter . . .they captured all 12 of us PERFECTLY, practically impossible with 3 generations, and it makes for a priceless momento!!!)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DesertDweller32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,887 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,331
    387
    108
    40
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fun and cheesy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

This show really is for all ages. It is very high-energy, and well organized. There is silly humor, some of it that is for adults that goes over kids' heads, some of it for kids. The food is awesome. The ribs were my favorite. And the sangria/beer is included! I was definitely laughing really hard at some of their jokes. This show is perfect for a rainy evening, or to do on a day when you don't want to go into the parks.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lindsaynd09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyneside
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned humour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I booked this prior to leaving the UK, and used credits from our Disney Dining in resort to pay for it. The kids (12 & 15), moaned all day about going, asking if they could miss it and stay in the Magic Kingdom, they weren't impressed at all, until the show started, then they had a great a time, the humour is slapstick, which they loved, the jokes so corny you had to laugh at loud and the 'stars' got involved with audience. The food isn't very kid friendly but it was ok, we went to the 7.30 show and after this show buses are provided back to the hotels which we found a great boon. The hall is air-conditioned and it is actually cold, I remembered reading this somewhere before so I took long trousers and light jackets with me, I am so glad I did as we all needed to change into the warmer clothes. The kids enjoyed it so much they asked to go back.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank margaret02Tyneside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
372 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Christmas Eve Dinner Show”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Our adult children flew in for a wonderful Mickey Christmas and we went to the Hoop De Doo Review for Christmas Eve dinner/show. We go to the Hoop De Doo Review (my husband and I) every time we visit Mickey in Orlando. It is a great show, cheesy - yes, corny - yes, but when visiting Mickey....what is there to expect besides cheesy and corny. The main thing is that it is funny, entertaining, and good old family fun. We had an excellent meal....bbq chicken that made our mouths water when the waiter walked by with a bucket of chicken for a different table. Our sons said "fried chicken....wow.....did you smell that!?"....bbq ribs...which have the meat falling off of the bone....mashed potatoes, corn, and a starter salad for everyone. Alcoholic drinks as well as non-alcoholic drinks are factored into your dinner price. Dessert is a showstopping Strawberry Shortcake....very good. Our daughter is a vegetarian, and we called Christmas Eve morning to order her a veggie meal, and were extremely happy with her dinner selection(s) that were offered. The chef came to our table to speak with her directly and make the veggie offerings so that she would be satisfied with the food selection. At the conclusion of the show, all three of the adult kids (and their wives - who were first timers at the Review) said that the show was excellent and they had a great time! We were very happy to have shared this great experience with our family on a special holiday evening. After dinner, we took the boat over to the Magic Kingdom to watch the parade and fireworks and then attended Midnight mass at a local Orlando church. Overall, a wonderful experience was had by all and special holiday memories were created. Thank you Hoop De Doo and Mickey.....we had a wonderful time! We'll be back.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GVL605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
163 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Good times at Fort Wilderness Campground”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is a fun dinner show at the Ft Wilderness campgrounds. A raucous stage show is the backdrop for a family style dinner of salad, fried chicken, mashed potatoes, corn-on-the-cob, ribs and corn bread. Reserve a wagon (or sleigh ride) after dinner for the perfect end to an enjoyable evening.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank HaveSuitcaseWillTrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hoop-Dee-Doo Musical Revue also viewed

 

Been to The Hoop-Dee-Doo Musical Revue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing