We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Monumental MovieLand
Ranked #242 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Awesome location”
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

It is near everything by car and by walking
You will find plenty of restaurants and the trolley goes really near
This hotel is just perfect, you can also have breakfast buffet for just 4,99 within restaurant right next door
Mom and I loved it :)

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Didibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    503
    395
    190
    187
See reviews for
605
399
68
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houma, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a weeklong stay, the hotel is older but well taken care of. Very quiet and close to universal. Hotel staff, especially Jose was friendly. No real complaints whatsoever, will gladly stay again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2014

If I could rate this any lower I would. This is a HORRIBLE hotel. Everything is outdated, carpet is ugly and smells in the room. The room had a wet dank smell. Bathroom is outdated. Just HORRIBLE.
WOULD NOT RECOMMEND!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseRed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Orlando hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I, like many others, read reviews of this hotel prior to visiting. We had stayed here when it was Best Western Movieland all those years ago so were worried when the reviews weren't very good and wondered what we had got ourselves in for. How wrong can people be? Absolutely loved staying here. Would 100% recommend it to everyone and will end up probably staying there again when we return. From the minute we checked in, to the minute we checked out absolutely no problem whatsoever. Lovely staff, always said hello & goodbye & were always happy to help whenever there was a problem. Hotel was clean & the rooms were comfortable. Considering that we were never in our hotel, we weren't expecting the Beverley Hills Hotel. The room was cleaned daily and as we were staying for three weeks, it got cleaned nearly every day. Perfect location, close to everything on I-Drive & perfect for a nice walk to Universal. The shuttle service to the Disney parks was excellent, our driver was brilliant and was well worthy of our $5 tip he received from us nearly every day for the first week and a bit when we visited Disney. The only downside and it's very slight is during the second week of our stay, the Wi-Fi went down & you could only get it whenever you sat down at reception. Wasn't too big of a deal as I wasn't on holiday to spend my entire time surfing the web or checking facebook or twitter but it was good for coming back in at night and unwinding for a while. The pool was lovely and quiet the times we visited as most people in the hotel were at the theme parks at the weekend and we avoided them then. The Black Angus restaurant next door is nice, we only had breakfast there once and it was disappointing. Adding a service charge to your bill when all they did was bring you two drinks to your table and they didn't even get that right. We went to iHop along the road the first week before going to the Ponderosa up the road for the duration of our holiday. Excellent breakfasts and definitely better value for money. Absolutely no complaints from the five of us about our hotel during our stay. The air conditioning system made the loudest noise ever during the night but we managed to sort it so that it was quiet and wouldn't wake us up. Handy that there is a Walgreen's only a 5 minute walk along the road and it was 24 hours so if you were hungry after returning from the theme parks you could get stuff from there and keep it in your fridge freezer in your room. Also a KFC next door. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Average hotel. The spacious rooms look a little outdated. There's a weird system in which you can only book a twin or a king size bed: just a double doesn't exist. The pool was great and very big, but the staff wasn't very friendly nor helpful. Location is great for Universal Studios: this is a walk of 15 minutes!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mimivvv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We traveled to Orlando from Ohio and stayed here to go to Disneyworld. We booked the hotel and payed online. We got to the hotel around 1130 am and were told we had reservations, but couldn't check in until 400 pm. We told them we had driven 16 hours and just wanted to shower and rest before going out, and asked if the rooms had been cleaned if we could check in early. Customer service was awful, They wouldn't even check to see if they were ready or not; they just said it's their policy that you can't check in until 400 pm. If we hadn't already paid we would have left and gone somewhere else. We had to a 2 children aged 8 and 9, a 2 year old, and a 6 month old, our elderly grandmother, and 3 adults and had to stay out around town and find stuff to do for hours! Once we were finally able to check into our rooms we found the beds were tiny. You can't fit 2 adults on one bed unless they are both small. We had to order a roll out bed for my husband to sleep on, which of course they charged extra for. The beds were also very uncomfortable. You could feel every spring poking through the mattress. There was yelling and banging doors half the night. The only good thing about staying here was the restaurant next door. Because of it's location this hotel might be ok for younger groups looking to go out at night around town, but if you actually want a comfortable hotel go elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This hotel is a 90 second walk away from Wet n Wild Water Park and a 12 minute walk from Universal Orlando Theme Park. The rooms were better than expected for a 2 1/2 star hotel. We had a table, kettle, fridge, microwave and flat screen TV. The room was spacious and clean. The decor was a little old fashioned but the beds were comfortable.

The hotel has a large pool and a small exercise room. The equipment in the exercise room is basic and unfortunately there are no free weights or weights machines.

On the 4th day I tripped over in the room and fell onto the dining table smashing it to bits. Thankfully the hotel staff were understanding and the table was promptly replaced the next morning with no extra charge (a massive relief!). I felt that the staff were extremely friendly to me and handled the situation brilliantly.

The hotel provides a shuttle bus service that go to Disney World, Universal and Seaworld every single day. Although this service is technically free it is customary to pop a 1-dollar tip in the drivers basket when you are dropped off.

There is a cheap 'all you can eat' restaurant KFC, Dairy Queen, Walgreen's all a minute walk away and loads other options going in both directions of the International Drive.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel if you are going to the parks especially Universal Orlando. It is very close and you will not find a better hotel for the price. :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SasquatchFoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Heart of I-Drive
#292 of 339 in Orlando
820 reviews
Rosen Inn
#105 of 339 in Orlando
2,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Orlando
#190 of 339 in Orlando
372 reviews
Econo Lodge International
#219 of 339 in Orlando
672 reviews
Florida Center
Floridian Express
Floridian Express
#300 of 339 in Orlando
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monumental MovieLand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monumental MovieLand

Property: Monumental MovieLand
Address: 6233 International Dr, Orlando, FL 32819-8211
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monumental MovieLand 3*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Monumental MovieLand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monumental Movieland Orlando
Monumental Movieland Hotel Orlando
Best Western Orlando
Orlando Best Western
Best Western Movieland Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing