We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Monumental MovieLand
Ranked #243 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed October 21, 2012

this is a average hotel needs updating very dated we had a fortnight here it done its job ok for sleeping in pool small but ok sunbeds uncomfortable no padding the property is close to universal parks a 15 to20 minute walk the walk is safe wet and wild opposite if you are only going to sea world and aquatica then you can get a i trolley ticket and thatb will take you there if you need disney parks you are better off buying a links bus ticket that will take you where you want. food the black angus which is attached to the hotel is a bit pricey i found breakfast ok but preferred the pondorassa as for evening meals it was expensive compared to other eateries.i was charged different prices for beer every time i went to bar ranging from 4dollars to 8dollars when i question this i was given various reasons from you have to be at the bar to pay less not with your meal or it was not the right time for cheaper prices so i went to other places which had a standard price.one word of warning do not eat in wild jacks it is really expensive we had two beers two orange juice and two rack of ribs the bill came to 80 dollars a real rip off. the theme parks are great the live up to all the claims if you have kids over 10 you will not need disney land and busch gardens is much better than animal kingdom the only good part of animal kingdom is everest and the saffari its ok if you can get a cheap enough ticket. buy your tickets at home get flex tickets or multi tickets as they are much cheaper than on international drive example we were quoted from 95dollars to 65dollars for tickets to animal kingdom i ended up paying 50dollars in the end but as you can see a huge price range.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dariandoreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 421 of 1,517 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just returned from 2 weeks staying at this hotel with my partner and 10 year old daughter, also had 2 other family groups with us. We was moved here as Eccono lodge had closed down. No complaints what so ever. Arrived late afternoon and all checked in straight away by 2 young guys who were friendly and efficient (unsure of their names). Was given a room on ground floor which was basic but clean with 2 large double beds, 32ins tv, fridge, microwave and coffee maker. On 1st full day we realised our air con unit was not working which we reported to the reception at 9am, we left the hotel for breakfast and by time we returned to our room within 1 hour the full air con unit had been removed from the wall and was being replaced by a brand new unit which worked, now thats efficient. Room was cleaned every day with clean towels, soap, shampoo and coffee packs for the coffee machine replenished when needed. Only downside to room was lack of storage as although it did have hanging rail in the closet, there was insufficient hangers (approx 6, but maybe we could have taken some with us ) and only 3 drawers so had to cram all our clothes in these. Great location for Universal as only 15 min walk away and only I ride away to sea world, aquatica and discovery cove. The hotel is built on to Black Angus restaurant which we only ate at once but meal was great (baby back ribs best I had tasted). Bar opended till late which we drank at everynight and although not the cheapest it was consistent with restaurant prices but did have regular happy hours where you paid $4 for a larger glass of lager(pint and half). Bar staff were friendly and always let you know cheapest offer. Karaoke friday and saturday nights and standard from locals unbelievable, x factor quality (seriously good). Some refurbishment was on going at this hotel around the pool and outside but did not affect anyone staying there. A hotel which opens all year round has to complete work at some point just like any other business around the world. This comment goes out to the person who was taking the photos outside the bar of the drainage work which was being done and was completed within a couple of days. (no doubt to try claim from your travel company). We wanted to buy the workmen a beer for working in such heat knowing what its like in the real world and not being on holiday. Cannot fault this hotel and would have no problem returning again, dont listen to any negative comments. Equivalent to a premier inn back in UK but with a nice adeqaute pool. You pay for what you get and if you want luxury pay Disney prices, but if going to Orlando and will be out most days visiting theme parks this is a great base.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at this hotel after being transferred from another hotel and was a bit dubious after reading the reviews but we had a great stay
Check in 5 minutes with friendly staff
Room spacious clean and had everything we needed - fridge microwave and coffer/tea machine
Hot showers
Room cleaned daily
Great restaurant and bar attached
Central to everything wet and wild water park across the road
Universal studios a 15 minute walk
Free shuttles to all other parks
Recommend buying a I-Hopper 2 week pass $18 for 2 weeks we more than got our money's worth
Pool was good enough for the time you spend it more of a cool down after a busy day, towels provided although the pool bar is not open and needs fixing but don't think we would have used it anyway
You get what you pay for and this was more than reasonable for the price have booked to return again next year
Oh and beds very comfy
Had 1 miserable front desk guy but who doesn't have a bad day at work!!

Room Tip: We didn't hear any noise from roads or other guests we were facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnD998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

No complaints regarding hotel,however the same cannot be said for the manager.After having sterling and dollars stolen from my room he informed me that it could not be staff as they would not know what to do with sterling,and they never went into closets.He inferred that it could be one of the members of my family.I knew to within a few hours when the theft occurred, but he was not interested. fortunately the police took a different view.He was a most pompous and rude man who really needs to learn management skills.

Room Tip: Hard to say, because i would never go there again,Really bad management
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 123jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Response32819, Public Relations Manager at Monumental MovieLand, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

123jackie

I’m sorry you felt that the manager was pompous and rude. After discussing the perceived theft of your monies, one day before your 14 day holiday was over. The manager and housekeeping director asked you what would like to see as a result of your claim you asked that the local police be called so that you may enter a police report to send back to your holiday booking agent. As promised, the manager did call the local police for you and had you talked to them to file a report which you stated that you did. The next day you claimed that you were positive that one of our housekeepers did in fact take your money, I asked you if you had any proof and you said "I just know it". You then asked if I would replace the money and have the housekeepers take a lie detector test and all would be settled, which was declined by the manager. The Movieland Hotel, Orlando has maintained our select group of housekeepers for many years, as a matter of fact the room that you were in was maintained by one of our most loyal employees who has been with us for over 8 years and receives stellar comments from our guest. Our housekeeping manager came up to us to see if she could be of any help. You moved towards her in an aggressive matter and started to point your finger in her face, which is when the manager needed to step in front of the housekeeping manager in order to prevent some sort of physical altercation.
Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

stayed hear for two weeks. the guy on the desk during the day was most unhelpfull his name was jorge could not care less when guests cars got blocked in the car park when work was going on outside. rooms where damp and stank and the pool area was half finished with the most uncomfortable sun loungers i have ever used they need to invest in some cushions.the only good thing about this hotel is the housekeeping staff who always made sure we had clean bedding and towels evryday

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jean a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I got changed to this hotel i did not book this.
Rooms are clean and have a fridge and a microwave which is great when the cleaners arent unplugging them and not plugging them back in.
facilities in hotel are that is is joined onto Black Angus Steak House it has a poor and maybe half a gym. there is no bar/pool side bar this has construction tape all over it there is no onsite shop and barely an entertainment room. the walls are so this that you can hear a mouse sneeze next door.
I was moved here as a supposed upgrade but failed to see where the upgrade was. all i can say is take earplugs and dont leave anything in the fridge. Also be careful who you speak to on reception as only certain ones will try and help.
The best thing going for here is the location it is in the centre of everything. very good.
Now I know you dont spend much time in the room (we didnt) however there is only so much defrosted water I could take.
hope your stay is better than ours :) x

Room Tip: higher floor and get a view of the inside (wet and wild can be quite noisy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trini T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a great stay at this hotel. Staff were fantastic, very friendly and always smiling! Was abit worried as we had been relocated from Econolodge to here. There was no need to worry. Check in was quick, we were checked in by a young friendly chap who always said hello when we passed (sorry dont remember his name) rooms were large and clean with a large flat screen tv fridge/freezer and microwave housekeeping were in everyday and even popped back in the evening to see if there was anything we needed. I would return to this hotel without hesitation. Great location, right across from wet and wild and a short walk to universal! Would not worry about any of the bad reviews on here its basic, clean and a great location for what you need in florida!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovingmicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Rosen Inn
#105 of 340 in Orlando
3,021 reviews
Heart of I-Drive
#291 of 340 in Orlando
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Orlando
#199 of 340 in Orlando
426 reviews
Florida Center
Floridian Express
Floridian Express
#292 of 340 in Orlando
1,539 reviews
Econo Lodge International
#222 of 340 in Orlando
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monumental MovieLand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monumental MovieLand

Address: 6233 International Dr, Orlando, FL 32819-8211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range: $48 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monumental MovieLand 3*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Monumental MovieLand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monumental Movieland Orlando
Monumental Movieland Hotel Orlando
Best Western Orlando
Orlando Best Western
Best Western Movieland Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing